Curator (Female, Age 39) in amherst, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Curator in amherst, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCurator
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationamherst, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
university; small research facility

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
digitizing their collection of images, video

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, 12 days vacation, 12 sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
wish health insurance was a little better

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work on my own but others come into my office for me to fulfill their requests

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I need approval for what computer programs I use and output I have

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am9:35, went to work.
10am to 11amBegan my day checking email, and then started to scan slides that would go in an online database. Began to upload a video from a lecture that was given a previous week (uploading would take 2 hours).
11am to 12pmContinued to scan slides and monitor uploading of the video.
12pm to 1pmContinued to scan slides. Discovered a portion of the video did not record well due to the presenter’s not using the microphone correctly. Had to contact someone for assistance with manipulating a program I am unfamiliar using.
1pm to 2pmDoctor’s appointment.
2pm to 3pmContinued to scan slides. Made plans to work overtime tonight on the video.
3pm to 4pmContinued to scan slides.
4pm to 5pmBegan to prepare for videotaping guest lecturer by disconnecting video camera from computer, packing equipment (tripod, microphone, batteries, etc), to take over to the next building. At 4:30 walked to next building and began to set up equipment, turned on appropriate lights, tested camera and all inputs.
5pm to 6pmHelped lecturer open his powerpoint presentation, made sure he knew how to use the microphone. Set digital voice recorder to record as a backup to the camera. Oversaw student as he operated the camera during lecture.
6pm to 7pmSince the videotape only lasts for 1 1/2 hours, had to change to a new tape to continue taping during the lecture.
7pm to 8pmPacked up camera equipment and closed the classroom podium-computer. Then I was able to partkae in some of the small reception that was available for those in attendance (crackers, cheese, fruit, etc.).
8pm to 9pmI worked overtime–I needed assistance in merging the sound from one digital recording device to a separate video recording. It took a while to synchronize the video and sound.
9pm to 10pmAfter 1 1/2 hours, was able to have an acceptable synched version of a recorded lecture to process to dvd and in quicktime to be put online for students.
10pm to 11pmwent home.
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
online ad

What was the application process?
paper application with resume, interview with supervisor, then interview with search committee

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews, one with supervisor, one with panel of 4 on a search committee

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
expectations of work load, future ideas

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
it was up to me

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
on the job

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes for research skills

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
get a library degree

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
organizational skills, social skills, computer and photography/art skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
master’s is probably sufficient

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
be prepared for daily changes to your work schedule as needed

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes.

What are your current career goals?
interested in broadening the accessibility of collections to the public at my facility and in collaboration with other museums in the area

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1group leader4 months?I led a team of volunteers in relocating a museum’s collection in storage to a new facility that had open artifact storage.
Prior Job 2chemical technologist2 years?$10/hourtested electronics pastes and powders in the quality assurance laboratory

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2canisius collegebiochemistry, history, art history/BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.9University at Buffaloanthropology; PhD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.