Nanny (Female, Age 49) in Oklahoma City, OK

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a Nanny in Oklahoma City, OK. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleNanny
Salary$28,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationOklahoma City, OK
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a family with two small children.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
preparing meals for the children, baths, taking and picking up the older child to kindergarten, housekeeping

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health and dental care

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
No. At times I would enjoy being around adults more, but given the nature of the job, nothing I could say I really dislike.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
home environment. I live in, so I don’t have to worry about being late for work.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend knew the employers, and suggested this to me

What was the application process?
Application, resume, interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. With the mother, and then with both parents.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did I feel I was competent for job? Did I feel I would enjoy it? Did I need Sundays or Wednesday evenings off? (for church reasons.) Was I allergic to cats? Would I be comfortable living in? Would I like to move my own furniture in? Could I swim? Did I have a passport? What would I require in salary? Questions about my family, did I have brothers and sisters, children, neices or nephews

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
For them most part, yes. A little more last minute plans, than I expected. Also, more cooking and deep house cleaning than was explained to me.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I feel I could be helpful with the schoolwork.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It would depend on the individual. If they were single and be happy living in would be something to consider. Also if they would be comfortable with “working” on short notice, such as supposed to have time off, e.g. an evening, and find out in 10 min. that you wouldn’t.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience is important. Also, being able to keep quiet, when you feel your work has been undermined by the parents. Being organized is essential, separating when the children do things on somewhat of a regular schedule. As well as it is for, in that I have other housekeeping duties to attend to. Technically, being able to help the children learn as they play and first-aid.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
High school and first-aid training

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
If they had never done this before, to make sure it is a trial period for you, employers and the children. Living in, with small quarters is an adjustment, also.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, this is not what I thought I would be doing at this point in my life.

What are your current career goals?
I am happy with my employment and plan to stay for at least the next 3 years. I am not sure what I would like to do after that.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s not what I planned, but sometimes the best things are not planned.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.