Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 34) from raleigh, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Administrative Assistant in raleigh, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $26,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 39
Company Size (not answered)
Location raleigh, NC
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
There are less than 30 employees that work here. I am 1 of 2 that does inside office work for the property inspections department. we do maintenance and inspections on properties that are about to be and have been foreclosed on.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i upload property inspection results to our clients. I also do some monthly accounting clerical work (producing reports). Answer the phones.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
it’s not the best, but I’ve worked for less in retail

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
i only work with one other person in my department. I love not having a lot of people to answer to.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a home office building. the building is located on the property of the owner, but separate from the actual home. I like it because it is quiet and there aren’t people coming in and out.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am N/A
9am to 10am Arrive at 9:30. I turn on the computer and start entering inspection results.
10am to 11am Continue entering.
11am to 12pm Continue entering.
12pm to 1pm Continue entering.
1pm to 2pm Download new inspections, print them out and distribute them. Also continue entering reults.
2pm to 3pm Continue entering.
3pm to 4pm Continue entering.
4pm to 5pm Continue entering.
5pm to 6pm Finish up. Make sure everything is completed that has to be entered that day. Leave at 5:30.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
a friend told me her boss needed someone full time and she couldn’t pick up the hours herself.

What was the application process?
I had to submit an application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I interviewed with the owner of the company. It took about 15 minutes before she told me I was hired. She asked questions about my previous work history.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i was asked about my previous work history. I also remember her asking me if I minded the laid-back atmosphere.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I do. There wasn’t much to learn since I am just transferring information from a piece of paper to the computer.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
there was no training. I watched a coworker enter the inspection results a few times and I was on my way.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I think that typing class prepared me for it.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
they would have to learn to type and keyboard. i would suggest taking an online typing course. they would also have to learn HUD specifications.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
the would have to know how to prioritize because there is little supervision. again typing and keyboarding are key. A background in accounting is helpful for the monthly reports.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no because I had no formal education when i started.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get a radio. learn to type fast. bring your own lunch.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is paying for me to go to school to do something completely different. I guess it is part of the plan, but not what I want to do career-wise.

What are your current career goals?
I am going to be a professional medical coder.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I don’t consider myself as having a career yet. In about a year I hope to be closer to it becoming a reality.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 waitress 1 month 2.13/hr + tips i waited tables during lunch. in the mornings we had to do some light prep work (cleaning tables, putting out condiments, cutting lemons).
Prior Job 2 supervisor 5 years 7 cashier, inventory, customer service, stocking

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.