Art Teacher 

(Female, Age 32) from Seattle, WA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Art Teacher in Seattle, WA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Art Teacher
Salary $24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 32
Company Size (not answered)
Location Seattle, WA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Private, religiously affiliated school. 180 students in grades K-8.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Develop curriculum in fine and performing arts for students grades K-8. Teach curriculum, and guide students in their art work. Hang artwork around the school. Direct school play.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 months paid vacation, 8 hours sick leave per month, full medical, dental and vision insurance, 3% match to 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
underpaid, but the benefits are great.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I love the people I work with. The kids are fantastic and my colleagues are intelligent team players.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
As the art teacher, I am frequently called upon to offer ideas for classroom teachers on their art projects. Also, I develop parts of my curriculum to supplement what each particular grade is studying at any given time.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am n/a
8am to 9am n/a
9am to 10am n/a
10am to 11am n/a
11am to 12pm Arrive at school. Set up classroom for day’s project. Cover tables, set out paint, brushes, water, paper towels, watercolor paper. Write lesson guidelines on chalkboard.
12pm to 1pm Teach watercolor lesson to class. Oversee their work. Oversee clean-up
1pm to 2pm Set up studio for next class. Put out pastels and fresh table covers. Set up still life. Write guidelines on board. Oversee lesson, oversee clean-up.
2pm to 3pm Mount/frame student work. Begin hanging work on front hall bulletin board.
3pm to 4pm Set up auditorium for drama club rehearsal. Set up music for warm ups.
4pm to 5pm Rehearse school play. Supervise students until parents come to pick them up.
5pm to 6pm n/a
6pm to 7pm n/a
7pm to 8pm n/a
8pm to 9pm n/a
9pm to 10pm n/a
10pm to 11pm n/a
11pm to 12am n/a

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I began by temping for a friend as the school receptionist. I made a good impression on the principal and was offered a job as a classroom assistant. The next year, I was offered the job of art teacher

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
My employer set me on several professional development courses and gave me all the support I needed to excel.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I did not train for this position.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, oddly enough. My training is in theatre and my supervisor has often jokingly said I am “acting” like an art teacher. Theatre taught me a lot about creativity, patience, ambition, teamwork, etc.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
After graduating with a degree in education, preferably art education, apply and interview with several schools. There are several websites for teachers looking for employment

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You must have creativity in order to offer stimulating and educational art projects, and a lot of patience to teach each child at the level at which they learn best.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definately a degree in education is helpful. I don’t personally yet have that degree, but it would be helpful to keep one’s options open during a job search. Without the degree, I have had to read several books and take a few enrichment courses in art education

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Keep your mind open to seeing the beauty around you. Instill this in your students. Read a lot. Steal ideas from other art teachers’ websites.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Since teaching, I have decided to get my master’s in teaching. I intend to teach Middle School language arts and social studies.

What are your current career goals?
As above, to teach middle school language arts/social studies.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
it’s fantastic. We’re underpaid, but it is so worth it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Front of House Manager 2 years 36000 Oversee employees in busy breakfast restaurant. Scheduling, ordering, waiting tables.
Prior Job 2 Paralegal 1 year 28000 Assist partner in correspondence, scheduling, etc.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Western Washington Universtiy BA, Theatre
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5 University of Idaho MFA, Theatre

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.