Sales Associate (Male, Age 27) in Portland, OR

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 27 who works as a Sales Associate in Portland, OR. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $24,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Portland, OR
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I currently work for a large apparel company that specializes in athletic clothing.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am responsible for maintaining a clean work zone. I must engage cutsomers and sell product. At times I may take on cashier duties.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Discounted clothing, gym, dental and health insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Fairly well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I regularly have to deal with customers wanting to purchase our products. I enjoy this, though at times it can be difficult.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
The work environment is a store. Inside it is rather warehouse-like. I like that it is very open and easy to move about, but at times it can feel like I am very separated from the outside.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am N/A
9am to 10am Arrive at work. I clock in and head to the sales floor. I find my zone for the day and head to it. Today I am working in basketball supplies. I make sure the basketball clothing appears neat and straighten what isn’t neat.
10am to 11am I continue to watch over my zone. I assist numerous customers in finding items and sizes. When a certain size is not out on the floor I search for back stock of the item in the warehouse area of the store. This can take anywhere from a minute to 8 minutes.
11am to 12pm I continue what I have previously been doing. I take my first break.
12pm to 1pm I work as a cashier for a short period of time. This involves scanning various items, receiving payment, and occasionally shipping such items. Shipping is a time consuming process.
1pm to 2pm A fairly well known person comes in to shop. Because of my experience with customer service I am asked to be his personal shopper. I go throughout the store with the customer making suggestions of items to purchase and try to assist them as much as possible. I try to make their shopping experience comfortable and hassle-free.
2pm to 3pm I continue with the customer as a personal shopper. I then return to normal work after the customer has checked out.
3pm to 4pm I am at lunch.
4pm to 5pm I return from lunch and meet with a supervisor regarding my experience with the customer for whom I was a personal shopper. The supervisor told me I did an excellent job and would discuss possible rewards with me soon.
5pm to 6pm I assist customers making purchases. I give them shopping carts so that they can purchase more.
6pm to 7pm I begin to close down my zone. I do this by straightening everything in the area and making sure that a full range of sizes are out. I RTS (return to stock) items that have either been returned by customers or are out of place.
7pm to 8pm I clock out of work and head home.
8pm to 9pm N/A
9pm to 10pm N/A
10pm to 11pm N/A
11pm to 12am N/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
Submitted resume online

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. One group interview

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I can’t remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, though I would have liked more on the job training before hand.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was one week of training. Mostly learning about the product and company policies.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the basic math I learned in high school was sufficient, as well as basic speaking skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
To apply for a job on the internet.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills are necessary to deal with customers and co-workers. Organization and visualization skills are needed when setting up displays.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be prepared for all sorts of questions and familiarize yourself with product being sold.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I eventually would like to move up in this company. They are a leader and a great company to work for.

What are your current career goals?
To receive a pay raise and a promotion.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Fry Tech. 6 months 4000 I managed the fry machine and flipped burgers.
Prior Job 2 Sales Associate 1 year 12000 I sold various electronic items to the public. I was specialized in car stereos.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.9

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.