Bookkeeper (Female, Age 33) in Weaverville, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Bookkeeper in Weaverville, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBookkeeper
Salary$23,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWeaverville, NC
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a small family owned business. It has been in business for over 20 years and employs approx. 10 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Answer phone, handle customer inquiries, take money, payroll.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation yearly

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with my coworkers and different customers daily. I enjoy my coworkers and the customers I have.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office. It is separate from the main work area and is private and quiet.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I did not have a formal interview since I knew the family that owned the business.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I was taught on the job everything I needed to know to do my job effectively.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
On the job training from the other office worker.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had basic math and bookkeeping skills.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I’m not really sure. I got lucky since I knew the family that owns the business I work for.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You are always going to need good social skills, basic math and reasoning skills. You must be able to work under pressure and be able to troubleshoot.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Basic math and bookkeeping

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It is better to be over prepared than under. Get as much training and schooling that you can.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I had planned to be in a more “high profile” type of job.

What are your current career goals?
Current career goals are to someday own my own business.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think anyone can complain about anything. I think that at least 50 perent of your job is your attitude towards it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Toddler Teacher5 Yrs.13000Taking care of toddlers. Feeding, teaching, playing, changing, basic care.
Prior Job 22yr teacher3 years15000Basic care of 2 yr olds. Teaching, feeding, playing, changing, etc.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Asheville Buncombe Technical Community CollegeMisc. classes
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.