Medical Assitant (Female, Age 41) in Philadelphia, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 41 who works as a Medical Assitant in Philadelphia, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assitant
Salary$20,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationPhiladelphia, PA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Medical Office with a staff of 10 people

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Patient Care Lab Work

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Vacation 1 week

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I enjoy people and my work environment. But can be extremely stressful at times

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office too small

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMEETING W/ PATIENTS= LAB WORK FIRST THING IN AM. Certain labtestes indicate drawing before a meal.charting patient records.
8am to 9amLAB WORK AND PHYSICALS- Ekg, hearing tests, Vision tests, vaccinations, bag lab work and call lab to come and pick up.
9am to 10amBREAK AND CLEAN OFFICE- answer phones, verify benefits
10am to 11amanswer phones, verify benefits
11am to 12pmMEETING W PATIENTS= physicals- hearing tests, vision tests.
12pm to 1pmLUNCH
1pm to 2pmMEETING W PATIENTS, answering phones, calling back patients to make appointments. charting daily activites.
2pm to 3pmEND OF DAY CLEAN ALL ROOMS AND RESTOCK. meet with doctor to go over daily events.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
externship

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to do an extership for school and they hired me from there

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
If i liked people and if I was flexible with my hours

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
he would explain in detail what I needed to do

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
It was on the job traing with ekg and certain surical procedures

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
It is required that you are trained in all aspects of patient care before you are able to work on the public.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
It gave me the confidence to have an experienced person watching me, and then give contructive critisism.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Technical Schools

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
venipuncture, lab, Social skills, patience, compassion, empathy

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
like to help people,

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I AM IN SCHOOL TO FURTHER MY CAREER

What are your current career goals?
ULTRASOUND TECH

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is a great job for people who need a sense of helping others when they need it most.

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.