Ceputy Circuit Clerk (Female, Age 59) in Westville, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 59 who works as a Ceputy Circuit Clerk in Westville, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCeputy Circuit Clerk
Salary$19,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWestville, IL
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Circuit Clerks office in the local court house

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
get files ready for judge, clerk in the court room, routine typing and a lot of filing.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
medical and some eye

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work everyday with public and with attorneys. I really enjoy working with people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office with 28 other women. It does get very stressful at times

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found about it through a friend

What was the application process?
paper application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
interviewed once with four supervisors, it was a group interview with myself and the four supervisors

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
That I cannot remember

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Somewhat, but going to court is very scary until you get used to it.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really. A lot of the training is just on the job learning experiences.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I took computer classes when I lost a job, this helped me a lot. I am sure now that the computer skills are different that I know.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would if it the pay was better. This is very underpaid for the responsibility it entails.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
data entry, very good with public, organized, computer skills, telephone skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
high school graduate

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
to make sure they were properly dressed for an interview. No jeans, no holes in their clothes, no see thru tops, do not chew gum, show your tatoos or your piereced tongue

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I have a good retire plan and have 13 years in it now. This will allow me to retire shortly

What are your current career goals?
I am going to retire at 60 years old. I will let someone young have a chance to work

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that you need to be outgoing and not take your job home with you.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1office worker90 days7.50 per houranswered phone calls, trouble shooted newpaper delivery, general office work.
Prior Job 2

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.