(Male, Age 50) from madison heights, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 50 who works as a Carpenter in madison heights, VA. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Carpenter
Salary $15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 30
Company Size (not answered)
Location madison heights, VA
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
remodeling people

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
redo floors. redo trim in and out. painting. staining.roofing.install cabinets.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
i week vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
doing well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Job Title:
Level of Responsibility:
The Actual Work:

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am went to work and set up for the day.
8am to 9am i sanded a floor and cleaned it afterwards.
9am to 10am i stained the floor and left to dry.
10am to 11am i came back and lightly sanded floor and cleaned it.
11am to 12pm i put one more coat of stain on floor and then i took lunch break!
12pm to 1pm i came back and sanded floor again and then cleaned it.
1pm to 2pm i put one coat of high-gloss polyurethane on the floor and left to dry for the day.
2pm to 3pm i cleaned up and went home!
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.