Medical Assistant (Female, Age 45) in Richmond Hill, GA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Medical Assistant in Richmond Hill, GA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Assistant
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
LocationRichmond Hill, GA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a hospital based company that has private physician offices included in it.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
scheduling patients, vital signs, venipuncture, assist with procedures, lab work, starting IV’s

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation, short and long term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes. there are an average of 5 ma’s or lpns and 10 front office staff at all times

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amstart at work. Fill each exam room so that it is well stocked for the day.
9am to 10amStart to bring in patients. Seeing differnt illnesses all day long
10am to 11amtaking care of sick people. Taking calls from pharmacies. Calling in prescriptions to pharmacies
11am to 12pmseeing patients
12pm to 1pmseeing patients
1pm to 2pmlunch
2pm to 3pmseeing patients
3pm to 4pmseeing patients
4pm to 5pmclean up exam rooms, get them ready for the next day. Pull charts if needed for next day
5pm to 6pmhome…cook dinner…take shower and spend time with my children
6pm to 7pmspend time with my children
7pm to 8pmspend time with my children and husband
8pm to 9pmget children ready for bed
9pm to 10pmgo to bed
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I saw a listing for the job in the paper and went on an interview

What was the application process?
resume, application and interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I went on one interview with the nurse coordinator. She had to see how my skills were and also my personality. After that I was on a 3 month probation to make sure that I was right for the job and that I liked the job also

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
it has been so long but I would imagine it would have been alot of medical questions.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes and no. I had 15 years of experience prior to working at this place of employment so I was prepared by my experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went to school for two years and then there was 3 months of on the job training that I had to do at all the different urgent care centers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
not really. I mean, yes by terms and book smarts but there is a big differnce between practicing venipuncture on a grapefruit and a persons arm

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
not really. I had alot of experience beforehand and I believe that that is what prepared me for my job

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
fill out an application. Possibly do some non paid on the job training

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
definately social skills. YOu interact with sick people all day long and they are not in a good mood. I feel that if you are not happy at your job, then you should find another one. You need technical skills, organizational skills as well

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes. YOu do need to go to school to become a nurse or medical assistant

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure that this is the field that you want to be in. If you are squeemish, go into another field of work

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes. I love working with all different types of people. I love helping people.

What are your current career goals?
To go back to school eventually and study for my nurse practitioner.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just that I love it.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1nuclear tech5 years18.00 hournuclear tech. We preformed nuclear testing on the heart. Cardiac stress testing, MUGA scans etc.
Prior Job 2tech8 years400.00 weeklyfront and back office, vital signs, venipuncture, EKG’s, Xrays, assist in procedures, lab studies.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Molloynursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.