Sales Associate 

(Female, Age 23) from Tallahassee, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Sales Associate in Tallahassee, NY. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $10,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 25
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tallahassee, NY
Years Experience 5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for an independently owned toy store.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I help customers check out at the register, balance the days receipts, answer phones, and open and close.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I deal with customers frequently throughout the day. I enjoy it because I like meeting new people.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a shopping mall.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 0
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend of mine referred me

What was the application process?
Submitted my resume in person

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, the manager asked me questions about why I would be well suited to the job. I had one interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Can you work holidays?

Do you have any experience working in a retail environment?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, it was plenty of time to learn what I needed to know.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I trained with another employee for a week or so. They showed me how to preform all the duties necessary.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, it is pretty simple tasks I am required to do.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply to different toy stores in the area they live.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Outgoing personality because you deal with a lot of people on a daily basis.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Work on their people skills.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, it is just a job, not a career.

What are your current career goals?
To get my Bachelor’s degree in Finance or Risk Management.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 N/A N/A N/A N/A
Prior Job 2 N/A N/A N/A N/A

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Tallahassee Community College A.A. Degree
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.