Consultant (Female, Age 34) in chatsworth, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 34 who works as a Consultant in chatsworth, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleConsultant
Salary$96,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationchatsworth, CA
Years Experience5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
retirement services

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
operational and financial audit (SOX)

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I enjoy interacting with various individuals within different departments

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office. I love that it is a short distance from home, however, the gray walls is the worst part of the ambience.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amI arrived in the office and checked my emails for all inquiries and regarding outstanding audits and address accordingly
10am to 11amI met with the staff to provide the Director the current status for all outstanding audits and issues that I may need to escalate with senior management
11am to 12pmI met with various business departments to address their inquiries pertaining to audit requirements.
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmProceeded with reviewing all documentation received for SOX Controls testing and begin testing
2pm to 3pmI continue to review the documentation and testing
3pm to 4pmAfter identifying documentation that are not complete, I prepare an email and send accordingly
4pm to 5pmI proceed with document review and testing with another audit item
5pm to 6pmoff to home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from a former colleague & friend

What was the application process?
linkedin resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed with everyone in the department. I first met with the Director, then the manager, and the Senior Auditor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Since the position is specifically related to SOX, the staff inquired as to the extent of my knowledge on basic requirements (404, 302 Certification, etc)

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
training entailed familiarity on the business strategy and departmental divisions, since I already had the basic finance & audit background

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely, without the basic Accounting background I learned from school, I wouldn’t understand the objective each department within the company are trying to accomplish

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, it prepared me for the culture within an office setting

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Attempt to obtain a position from a public accounting firm and gain experience in auditing.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social, organization, versatility, open minded, & patient

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, college graduate with basic accounting knowledge

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be attentive, organize, and do not take anything personal.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, since I am a consultant, and my time at work is focused on completing a set of assignments

What are your current career goals?
To obtain a versatile background that will enable me to continue consulting

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
My motivation is learning. As long as my work is not the same all the time, and I’m learning something new every day, I will continue to do what I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Consultant5 months$45/hrManage Sarbanes Oxley (SOX) planning, documentation and audit of key operational & financial controls for various business departments within SunAmerica Annuity and Life Assurance Company
Prior Job 2Reg Financial Compliance Consultant7 yrs / 4 months112000Managed Sarbanes Oxley (SOX) planning, documentation and audit of key operational & financial controls for the various business unit segments within the Commercial & Consumer Business.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8UC Santa CruzBusiness Economics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.