Financial Analyst (Female, Age 26) in Naperville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Financial Analyst in Naperville, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFinancial Analyst
Salary$63,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNaperville, NY
Years Experience5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A international company build engine and trucks.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Month end close and financial analysis on truck warranty

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 days of vaction, sick leave and 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
It is a good group. Working closely with the plant and other locations.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office is good.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCheck email and respond to any questions and address any issues

Daily Reports

Sending reports to the group and answer any questions regarding to the reports

8am to 9amDownload reports from system

Prepare Journal entries based on system report information

9am to 10amBook journal entries in the system and wait for approval

if any error, request to be recycle and rebooked the entries/correcting the entry

check emails and answer questions for the quarterly audit for auditor

10am to 11amPrepare journal entries and check to see if those entries are booked.

Once posted, check the ledger balance to make sure correct amount is keyed.

Preform analysis on monthly data based on system reports

11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmPrepare more journal entries and keyed into the system

Getting ready for account reconciliation:printing general ledger balance

1pm to 2pm
2pm to 3pmspecial projects

templates for financial analysis

communicate with the group for results/information

3pm to 4pmspecial projects

templates for financial analysis

communicate with the group for results/information

4pm to 5pmif month end, month end activities, journal entries, account reconciliations

sometimes meetings

special projects

5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
school interivew

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. First on campus interview and second round on site. Individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
used a case study

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. Went though a trainee program before this position

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
NA

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
It is interesting to learn about the business and learn about the products.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Access database knowledge and excel skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
studies in finance/accounting or related areas

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
make sure to learn from the people in your group and the one who was in the position before you

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It is helpful to see and understand the products.

What are your current career goals?
learn more about the business

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
NA

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.55Washington UniiversityFinance
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.33UIUCFinance

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.