Administrative Assistant 

(Female, Age 52) from Kittrell, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 52 who works as a Administrative Assistant in Kittrell, NC. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Administrative Assistant
Salary $30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Kittrell, NC
Years Experience 5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work at one of two Ford Dealerships. Between both companies there are about 60 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Accounts receivable, deposits and receipts, title and notary work

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Life, medical and disability Insurance, retirement, vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I interact with everyone employed at my company. I share an office with two others. I would prefer an office of my own.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I share any office with two other people. It can be very noisy at times. I would prefer to be in an office alone.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am Get ready for work, make my lunch and drive to work which takes about 20 minutes.
8am to 9am I balance the sales from the day before. I receipt any money received after I left the day before. Sales report.
9am to 10am Make the deposit and close it. Deposit report.
10am to 11am Enter any purchase orders and internal invoices that need correction.
11am to 12pm Write checks for sales pulls, and vehicle pickups. Customer calls and supply orders. Petty cash balance and checks.
12pm to 1pm Lunch
1pm to 2pm Title work
2pm to 3pm Title work
3pm to 4pm Filing, salesmans gas tickets and title work
4pm to 5pm Letters, Wholesale paperwork, vehicle orders
5pm to 6pm Drive home
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I responsed to a newspaper ad.

What was the application process?
I first submitted a resume. Next was a inperson interview and then I filled out an application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I spoke with the Controller directly. The interview process did not take long. She asked questions about my previous job and told me the requirements of the job I was applying for.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my previous experience at my former job. Also when I would be available to begin and my salary requirements.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I had a longer than usual training period. Everyone was always very helpful when I asked questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained by the person who I was replacing. Luckily she was worked a 30 day notice so I had the benefit of a longer training period than the usual 2 weeks. I observed the first day, but the next day I did the work while being instructed -what to do next, etc.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I had over 30 years of administrative assistant experience which 10 of it was in the same field so the job duties came back to me quickly which helped in learning the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
First get your notary license. It’s very hard to do title work without one. Put in the effort when searching for a job. Always contact the employers and don’t rely on emails and voice mails.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Notary, adminstrative assistant training, previous work experience in the same field.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes I do.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take one thing at a time when things get hectic. And they will. Don’t let stress get to you. It’s easy to have more than one boss when you’re an adminstrative assistant and each one will feel what they need is more important than anyone else’s request. Go with your instincts with what is more important.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
My current employment is not part of my career plan. My career plan is to be completely self employed and working out of my home.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be my own boss and be successful at it to the point I can retire early.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I wasn’t really looking for a job when I offered the job. I was drawing unemployment and enjoying the “time off”. I had worked since I was 18 and had never not worked. As you know, when you are drawing unemployment you can’t just turn down a job. Especially if it fits along the guide lines you submitted so now I’m a working again.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Legal Assistant 3 years 25000 Interviewed clients for bankrupty petitions
Prior Job 2 Acct Specialist 14 years 26000 Account order taking, new skus additions, excel analysist reports

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.