Personal Care Attendant (Female, Age 31) in hanover township, PA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 31 who works as a Personal Care Attendant in hanover township, PA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePersonal Care Attendant
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week33
Company Size(not answered)
Locationhanover township, PA
Years Experience5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I am a personal care attendant who was privately hired to care for a 40 year old disabled man. The company that issues my checks is a well known and extremely large. They have a division in every county in the United States. I could not even estimate the full size of the company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Housekeeping and personal care of a 40 year old disabled man. I help with bathing, cooking and cleaning of his house along with transportation to & from doctors appointments.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I only have contact with the disabled man I care for. It’s the main part of my job so yes, I do enjoy it very much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My job is solely based at the disabled mans home. It’s a nice, small home with 5 rooms, very clean and homey. I enjoy going there.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amReport to work at 9am. Inform my employer that I’m there and bring him his morning drink and medication. Start laundry at 9:30am then begin cooking breakfast.
10am to 11amOnce I finish breakfast, I help him out of bed and into the kitchen for breakfast. While he’s eating I put the laundry into the dryer.I then sit with him until he finishes eating and we talked about what needed to be done for the rest of the day. 10:30 he’s finished breakfast and I clean up the dishes then help him to the bathroom for a shower.
11am to 12pmAfter his shower I help him get dressed for the day then help him into the livingroom to relax watching tv. I then did the dishes and straightened up the kitchen and bathroom. I then moved onto cleaning the livingroom and bedroom. I ran the vacuum and dusted as well as made the bed.
12pm to 1pmI fold and put away the clean laundry then begin preparing lunch. While waiting for lunch to cook I take a break and watch some tv with him and talk about a bunch of different things. We both sit down for lunch and continue talking for about 20 minutes. Once lunch is finished I help him to the bathroom and then to bed for a nap. I bring him his medication and a drink.
1pm to 2pmI finish up the lunch dishes and do a walk through of the house to make sure everything is clean. Then I took out the trash and went aroudn through the yard cleaning up any mess that might be out there. I also swept off the porch and pulled some weeds that were growing by the steps of the porch. I came back in and relaxed for about 10 minutes.
2pm to 3pmI woke him from his nap at aprox. 2:30 and again helped him to the bathroom. I then helped him to the livingroom and got him a snack and drink. After making sure everything was done for the day and he didn’t need anything more, I left at 3pm.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend I used to care for know of a man in need of help and referred me to him.

What was the application process?
In home interview followed by a paper application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. The interview consisted of two parts. The first part was with the man I’d be caring for. It was up to him if he liked me enough and found me qualified to care for him. The second interview was with the company who issues the pay checks. There were there to make sure I had a clean criminal background and discuss job duties and responsibilities.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about my work history and about any experience or training I’ve had that would help me with the job position. I was also asked about any criminal background history that may exsist.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was given detailed instructions on what I was to do daily. I also had a long meeting with the man I’d be caring for and we talked about what he’d like from me as a caregiver and what aspects of daily life he needed the most help with. By the time I started I was very comfortable with both him and the environment I’d be working in.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I personally went through no training for this position. My best friend of 15 years is diabled and I have been taking are of her for many years. I learned everything I needed to know by hands on experience.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I never had any formal training for my current job. Everything I learned was from life experience and taking care of others.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend starting off with some basic CNA classes to get the training you need for the job. It’s also the best place to start to see if you would even like this type of job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You definitely need social skills as you will be interacting daily with whomever you’ll be caring for. You must also be a clean, organized person as many of your job dutied will include cleaning and upkeep of the employers home. Basic safety and first aid is a must. Without that you cannot perform your required duties.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, a basic first aid or CNA class

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It’s a well paying and enjoyable job but there is also alot of hard work involved. If you have difficulty with heavy lifting or low people skills, this isn’t the job for you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I’ve never really had a career plan. I enjoy this type of work and see myself staying with it as long as possible. I was never looking to further my career.

What are your current career goals?
I have none. I’m completely happy with the type of employment I currently do and am not looking to further my career at this time.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It’s one of the only positions I’ve ever worked that I actually look forward to going to work every day. Not many jobs out there are that fun or fulfilling.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1data entry clerk1 year7.5Input information into computer system.
Prior Job 2cashier2 years7Cashier, store recovery, customer service. Occasional stock and closing of store and cleaning.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3luzerne county community collegeinformation systems technology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.