Volunteer Maryland Coordinator (Female, Age 46) in Baltimore, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 46 who works as a Volunteer Maryland Coordinator in Baltimore, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleVolunteer Maryland Coordinator
Salary$14,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBaltimore, NY
Years Experience5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
The Southeast Community Development Corporation is a registered 501c3 organization which focuses on creating a healthy and dynamic community in southeast Baltimore. A mid-sized non-profit with 15 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am a volunteer manager. My role is to increase volunteerism within the organization.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
flex leave; Americorp educational award

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
This is a service position under Americorp so it is acknowledged that the salary covers basic needs.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I like working with others and I do work with others everyday.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work 60 percent in the office, 20 in the field and 20 percent at home.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 8
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 3
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amWake up and get ready for work. Get my children ready for school.
8am to 9amDrop my children at school and drive to work. The drive takes about 40 minutes. I usually stop at Starbucks to get coffee to drink on the way to work. This is one “luxury” I allow myself on this salary.
9am to 10amI arrive at work and settle in. I check email and answer messages. I go over my schedule. I start entering data into spreadsheets and I continue working on a volunteer manual.
10am to 11amMeet with supervisor to discuss progress of manual and accomplishments of the week. We also discussed future plans with community members and projects in the works.
11am to 12pmMeet with a potential volunteer. I interviewed her along with another staff member. I had a discussion about why she wanted to volunteer with us and her interests.
12pm to 1pmLunch and errands
1pm to 2pmI answered more emails and wrote more.
2pm to 3pmI leave to go pick up my children. I drive 40 minutes and pick my children up from school. I bring them home and help them get started with homework.
3pm to 4pmMy husband comes home and I continue writing and answering emails.
4pm to 5pmI get several phone calls from community members that I am teaming with on projects. We go over details of planned events and agree on a direction.
5pm to 6pmI answer more emails. I write more of the manual. I work on a flyer.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Craigs List

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I had three interviews. I interviewed with the Volunteer Maryland representative and my future site supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why did I want to do this? Is there any reason I couldn’t complete my service year?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My site supervisor did not adequately introduce me to the staff.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I had to attend two weeks of training and I have to go for one day of training a month.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have degree in English and masters in journalism.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Apply to be a Volunteer Maryland Coordinator.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Great communication skills.

Excellent computer skills.

Wonderful writer.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Finish college

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It wasn’t and I am happy I am doing it. I hadn’t anticipated going into non-profit work though I enjoy it. I feel as though I am doing something good.

What are your current career goals?
Pursue a career in non-profit management.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not at this point.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Volunteer Maryland Coordinator5 months14000I recruit and work with volunteers.
Prior Job 2Grant writer1 year7200Write grants and file reports.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4University of MichiganBachelors – English
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5University of ColumbiaMA Journalism