Keyholder 

(Female, Age 56) from Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 56 who works as a Keyholder in Chicago, IL. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Keyholder
Salary 25000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Chicago, IL
Years Experience 5 months

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a non-profit organization that conducts architecture tours. Medium sized.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I sell, I am a cashier, I open and close the store, train employees, merchandise and more.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 wks vacation, sick leave, retirement plan, health insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I very much enjoy the fact that I get to talk to people from all over the world.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It is a shop in downtown Chicago. I love it because I get to see an amazing view of this city every day. I dislike when special events go on downtown because of the amounbt of people it brings down .

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 5

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet job site.

What was the application process?
resume submitted on-line

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did. I had 2 interviews, the asst manager, then the manager.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
About my sales experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I was given ample time to learn and ask questions.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
A little how to do refunds and exchanges, opening and closing store procedures.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because I took several accounting classes in school.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Check out the retail section on Craigslist.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Ability to talk to people and sell.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just be friendly, talk to people, listen to them.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I am good at what I do and I like it.

What are your current career goals?
Nothing right now I am happy with what I am doing.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Membership Dept 6 months 25000 Updated membership files, signed up new members
Prior Job 2 Lead cashier 5 yrs don’t recall sales, cashier, stock, open and close small shops

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.