Records Admin. (Female, Age 48) in Needham, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Records Admin. in Needham, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleRecords Admin.
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week37.5
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNeedham, MA
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
State Auditors Office. 350 employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Maintain, file, database all workpapers that have been completed by the State Auditors.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
15 days vacation. 15 sick days. Tufts Navigator. Met Life Dental.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work on a daily basis with audit staff and managers. I like the interaction I have with these people and the knowledge I learn from them.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work shortly before 8.
8am to 9amCheck incoming mail from main office. Check email and follow any instructions.
9am to 10amCheck all workpapers turned in and record in database all info. How many wallets, disks or cds that are included.
10am to 11amAfter recording all info into database. Take all workpapers to records room and file away in appropriate cabinets.
11am to 12pmChecking any missing or long standing paperwork not turned in yet with all Mgrs. and Directors.
12pm to 1pmLunch.
1pm to 2pmChecking that supplies are all filled in.
2pm to 3pmMisc. work.
3pm to 4pmCovering phones for receptionist.
4pm to 5pmHome
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. An individual interview.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
The interview just talked with me to see how comfortable I was with different aspects of the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
A small amount of training. Most was on the job training.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, only had a High School Diploma.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Networking is the best way.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be able to work with others and independant. Must have very good organzational skills and be able to multi task

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be open to every aspect of the job even if it isn’t part of your job description.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
N/A

What are your current career goals?
To work 5 more years to be vested in the retirement program.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin.6 yrs23000Admin for a park and recreation department children’s gymnastic program.
Prior Job 2Mgr335000Mgr of Outlet Shop.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/AN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.