Patient Access Services Rep (Female, Age 39) in Millbury, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 39 who works as a Patient Access Services Rep in Millbury, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitlePatient Access Services Rep
Salary$34,500
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationMillbury, MA
Years Experience5.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for one of the largest hospitals in Massachusetts. We are UMass Memorial Medical Center. A trauma center. We have several different sites and 3 main campuses. UMass employs over 10,000 people.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I schedule appts for 7 different clinics which makes it over 100 doctors I book appts for.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 wks vacation, Blue Cross health insurance and a 401k retirement plan,dental insurance also and short term disability

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a lot of people on a daily basis and I like this very much. I love to help people and interact with people. I work with several co-workers and also work with patients.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office where we each have our own cubicles. It is a call center and I enjoy it very much. I wish the cubicles were a little bigger though.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amLog into my phone to start answering calls from all seven clinics.
9am to 10amAnswer calls and do my daily reports that my supervisor gives to me.
10am to 11amAnswering calls, emailing doctors, making appts, finishing reports and receiving 10am reports.
11am to 12pmStill Answering calls for the clinics, helping co workers.
12pm to 1pmCovering lunch shift answering calls still.
1pm to 2pmTake lunch from 1-2pm.
2pm to 3pmBack to answering calls for the clinics and finishing up any reports.
3pm to 4pmWinding up the day making sure emails are finished and reports are done.
4pm to 5pmLeave at 4:30pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Submitted application and resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes I did interview. I had to meet with the supervisor for a one on one interview. Only one interview and I got the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I think I would be the best one for the position. What qualities and experience do I bring to the job.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes I feel I was trained well for the position and was comfortable when it was time to be on my own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes I had togo to two different classes to train for the systems we use here. One class was 7 days and the other was 3 days.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No I did not have any medical background when I started with UMass

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend they start at an entry level position and work their way up as it is much easier gaining more knowledge along the way to understand the aspects of the job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person would definately have to be calm and outgoing. Be able to multi task and handle fast paced work. Also they should be able to let things roll off their back and not be the type to take everything personal.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
A little training within the company.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Just smile and do the best you can. Keep your head up and stay on your toes. Don’t take too much personal and listen always.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes because I hope to further grow in the medical field.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to keep moving up the ladder and have a top position one day.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love working for UMass Memorial Medical Center. I enjoy what I do.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Office Asst2yrs7000Office duties, filing,copying,answering phones.
Prior Job 2Tech5 yrs27000Operated and fixed machines, tested microchips

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Fitchburg State CollegeUndeclared
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.