Office Manager/Billing Manager (Female, Age 26) in Chicago, IL

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 26 who works as a Office Manager/Billing Manager in Chicago, IL. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager/Billing Manager
Salary$52,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationChicago, IL
Years Experience5.5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Physical Therapy clinic with 2 office locations in the Chicago area. We employee under 10 people and are a private practice.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Oversee office staff, set-up meetings with vendors, ordering supplies, medical billing, AP/AR

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical including dental, company matching 401k, flextime

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work closely with other employees as well as with patients. At times it’s stressful and overall I don’t like it much.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Small private office, great location in a nice area

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amCleaned up paperwork from day prior. Made phone calls to Insurance Network Contractor to obtain contracts. Morning breakfast break = 5 minutes. (Federal guidelines do not allow me to go into much detail because I’m in the healthcare field and there are alot of things that are confidential and private. This will be the norm for the rest of the entries.)
8am to 9amPlaced supply orders for office. Organized more files. Discussed insurance contract issue with boss.
9am to 10amFilled out online auth. forms for patient insurance. Reconciled patient account for employee. Called insurance company to verify insurance benefits on patient.
10am to 11am5 min. personal phone call. Various paperwork.
11am to 12pmOpened mail. Accounts receivable, printed payment report and reconciled payments.
12pm to 1pmMade copies of checks for financial records. 10 min. personal phone call.
1pm to 2pmNothing I could go into detail about.
2pm to 3pmSpoke with boss about insurance network issues and a NSF check issue. Spoke with insurance company, reconciled matter. Downloaded network contract and filled out.
3pm to 4pmFinished day’s paperwork, small personal conversation with boss and left early.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper ad

What was the application process?
Resume, in-person interview, follow-up job offer

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I merely met with the owner and discussed details of her business.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I don’t recall.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
At times, yes. At other times, no but I learn quickly and was able to manage.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I learned everything as I went, with minimal training from my boss.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
N/A

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Have experience in an office setting, if you don’t then work your way up. Try to have some college education, take management classes.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Definitely need social skills because you deal with people all day and you confront difficult scenarios that call for a calm and collected personality.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You need confidence, all the schooling in the world won’t matter if nobody respects you.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get to know your employees, know how they deal with stress and what the best way to approach their personality.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Not sure

What are your current career goals?
Not sure

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1AR1 year30000Accounts Receivable
Prior Job 2Switchboard Operator1 year20000Answered phones

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:?

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/AN/AN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.