Lsw (Female, Age 33) in Germantown, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 33 who works as a Lsw in Germantown, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLsw
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week30
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGermantown, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
a county agency, small rural area that services senior citizens

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I report to work each morning and get assigned a case load, I go to my clients homes and approve/disprove them for various services.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks paid vacation, medical and dental insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I have to work with many people daily. I love it.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
in the field. I dislike being on the go all the time but I like seeing different people and places.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amMy work day begins at 8:30 a.m.
8am to 9amat around 8:40 I leave to see my first client. My first client is an elderly lady who lives in a rural area.
9am to 10amI arrive at address. I meet the lady at the door and we sit down to go over her paperwork and I decide what benefits she is eligible for. This client is elegible for medicare, meals on wheels and trasportation.
10am to 11amwe complete paperwork and I look over the map to see where my next client is located.
11am to 12pmI meet my second client for the day and go over the same paperwork and determine that she is ineligible for most servics based on income but is eligible for transportation.
12pm to 1pmlunch break, I go to burger king drive through and eat in the care as I log my hours and gas mileage. I look over the map and find that I have to drive 24 miles to my next client.
1pm to 2pmI see my last client for the day and determine he is eligible for medicare and foodstamps along with transportaion, meals on wheels and transportation.
2pm to 3pmI get to go home.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume and electronic application,

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes, I had one group interview. We sat in a circular style table and went around the room answering the same question.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
why do you want this job ?, what do you think you can bring to this organization ?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, they went over every problem we could come across

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no, just college

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, we went out and did alot of communtiy work

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes, I shadowed someone who did what I am doing so I knew what to expect.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
work for a government agency. the pay is the best and there is room for advancement.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, organization skills, be a self starter,

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, you must have a BA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
do a lot of volunteer work to see how well you work helping others and if you like it.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes, I plan to always be an LSW

What are your current career goals?
to stay where I am

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
It is very fullfilling to know I am helping others and sometimes I am the only person they see.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1LSW5 yrs30000present job
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Miami University of Oxfordsociology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.