Medical Resident (Male, Age 31) in Southfield, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 31 who works as a Medical Resident in Southfield, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Resident
Salary$55,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSouthfield, MI
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
work for a large hospital in the Detroit. Its one of the oldest and largest hospitals in the area with a significant employment pool. The hospital is currently going ahead with further expansions in order to better serve the community.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Assess patients and provide the necessary treatment after coming to a valid diagnosis of the patient’s problems via a variety of testing channels (labs, consults, etc)

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
3 weeks vacation, 1 week sick leave, medical/dental ($30 deductible), $100/mth for paid meals

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated at this current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with many different people on my team and like it as its with this group of people, I can properly assess and diagnose a patient.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
hospital (80%) and 20% (clinic)

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amRound at hospital. The attending (senior doctor) will come and see each patient on the hospital floor. We discuss the patient situation, anything important (findings) and improvements
8am to 9amrounding at the hospital will continue. This normally lasts about 2 hours.
9am to 10amSee any new patients that might have been admitted to the hospital during the night.
10am to 11amAssess any patients admitted over night and also use this time to update and notes for patients currently in my responsibility.
11am to 12pmlunch. This can be a short or fast lunch (no defined time).
12pm to 1pmlecture. Usually a pharmaceutical company will come to teach us about a new drug on the market and discuss its preference over ones already on the market.
1pm to 2pmsee patients
2pm to 3pmsee patients
3pm to 4pmseeing patients will continue for the rest of the day. This can be from monitoring current patients, reading their results and adding those notes to their charts.
4pm to 5pmfinish up patient information charts, assess new patients
5pm to 6pmround out. The nurses usually shift over at this time for the next shift, so we usually update them on any critical patients that need special monitoring and also take a final look at labs for any improvements. This way, any that can be discharged can be.
6pm to 7pmhome. Dinner.
7pm to 8pmhome. watch TV, or workout.
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
online application, interview process – entire process takes about 4-8months

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes. One day interview (8hrs). Consisted of one-on-one with director of program along with a group lunch session with other candidates and current employees. Then were was also a tour of the hospital.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
no.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes. I was given many different cases which showed me a variety of topics which I now see on a regular bassi

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
4 years of medical school.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, I had a great educational training which prepared me well for the job-market and the demands a job require.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
work hard, score well on your national board exams and remain persistent. Its a cut-throat market for doctors that want to work in large cities and you need to keep putting your foot into each door and network!

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
social skills, organizational skills and tech skills all come into play. You need to be able to speak with people of all walks of life, you have to be organized as you juggle multiple patients in the hospital and with everything being typed and being electronic, maintain good tech skills. Also, know when you need to be assertive as nobody respects a shy/quiet worker in a hospital.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
medical school

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
work hard, study.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
no, its a jumping point for something better paying and perhaps with more regular hours. I want to be able to find a balance with work life and personal life

What are your current career goals?
work in a tax-free state, less than 40hrs / week and a great pay package with a higher income, more vacation time/flexibility and benefits that would help when starting a family.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4York UniversityBiology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4NorthwesternMD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.