Receptionist (Female, Age 60) in santa barbara, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 60 who works as a Receptionist in santa barbara, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleReceptionist
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
Locationsanta barbara, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
It’s a huge medical clinic which is just one branch of them.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Filing, check in for appointments, schedule appointments, answer phones.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical, Dental

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I both like and dislike it. Some patients and people can get mean if they wait too long on the phone (on hold). Others are more understanding.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
In office with other receptionists. 4 computers are side by side. I like that I can talk to my co workers in the down time that we have.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 8
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amNot working yet.
8am to 9amStart work at 8 am. Schedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients until lunch.
9am to 10amSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
10am to 11amSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
11am to 12pmSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients until 11:30. Lunch for an hour.
12pm to 1pmLunch until 12:30. Schedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
1pm to 2pmSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
2pm to 3pmSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
3pm to 4pmSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients.
4pm to 5pmSchedule appointments, answer phones and check in patients. Off work at 5 pm.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
Turned in an application and resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. There was one interview with the head of the clinic.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I cant remember most of it but was basically background experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. We were taught thouroughly how to use the programs and what to do.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Testing of the computer software and medical terms that we need to know.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. I didnt get a degree.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Just go in and apply.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Must be computer literate.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Just being a high school graduate.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
It may be stressful at times, but know that it’s what needs to be done.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No. I never had a career plan.

What are your current career goals?
None at the moment.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teachers aide15was per hour payAided teachers in classrooms part time
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.