Teacher (Female, Age 45) in Naperville, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Teacher in Naperville, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleTeacher
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationNaperville, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work as a Special Education teacher in a school district.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I oversee 12 special education students. I work with in class and also pull-out for various academic issues. I will also assist when having a behavior issue.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I work only periodically so I do not receive this

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with other teachers. Yes, I like working together to meet students needs

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
School I love it!!! I love seeing all the students daily

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 5

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcheck e-mail
8am to 9amfilter and help in kindergarten class help during calendar time. Make sure students are on task. Supervise and prevent behavior issues.Redirect students as needed. Work around and see who needs help.
9am to 10am2nd grade classroom assist during Math time Make sure students comprehend and that they are during all assigned work. Check to make sure students do home work and check off names of who didn’t do.
10am to 11amsmall reading group work on read naturally- a phonics reading program. Reading and decoding of story and then answering comprehension questions
11am to 12pmlunch
12pm to 1pmhelp in lst grade with a literacy group. Do they know words and language being discussed and are they focuisng??
1pm to 2pmgo into 2nd grade room assist while they are working on reading. Are they on task. If need be take a small group and assist while reading. Do they understand and can they read story on their own. Check for comprehension.
2pm to 3pmThis is plan time. E-mail teachers and check with students to make sure they are caught up on work. Help them to catch up if needed.
3pm to 4pmBus duty. Assist students to bus and make sure they are orderly and quiet.
4pm to 5pmcheck e-mail and head home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
substituting in this district

What was the application process?
resume on line

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. District level then met with principal once

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
strengths and weaknesses. Why I wanted to get into teaching

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes need on the job experience

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
student teaching making lesson plans and implementing them and then assessing students

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes needed to see how to teach different subject matters

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Education and student teaching, volunteer and substitute teach

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Patience and a love of children

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Babysit and observe classrooms. Find out if teaching is a good fit for you.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes I love teaching

What are your current career goals?
continue teaching

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love it!!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teacher4 Yrs.30000Special Ed. Teacher
Prior Job 2Teacher10 Yrs90/day

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5W.I.U.B.S./Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.