Research Regulatory Coordinator (Female, Age 35) in mount sterling, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 35 who works as a Research Regulatory Coordinator in mount sterling, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleResearch Regulatory Coordinator
Salary$48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationmount sterling, KY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for Central Baptist Hospital, it is a 379 bed facility located in Lexington, KY

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I prepared all new research studies to be presented to the IRB for approval. I take care of the monitoring visit and FDA audits. I write consent forms for each of the new studies. I provide support for the doctors and nurses concerning the studies. I take care of CMS submissions and approvals. I do all the legal paperwork for the research department

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
5 weeks vacation, 80 hours sick time a year, blue grass family health insurance, 403B retirement plan

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I work with a variety of people on a daily basis for several different disciplines. I love the interaction with my co-workers and peers. I love the ability to do my job without direct supervision. I love the freedom and flexibility that comes from my position.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a office building located on the main campus of our hospital. We have a cubicle work environment to allow us to interact easily with one another.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 5
Benefits: 4
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI start my day by logging onto my computer and checking my email. My main type of communication about the day is going to arrive in my email box. I delete the junk mail, and start to focus on what needs to be done for the day.
8am to 9amI log into our electronic submission system called Imedris. This software allows to be do electronic submission to the IRB. The IRB is a group of people from various backgrounds that come together to review all aspects of our studies. This can range from protocol review, to name change of employees. I start submitting any forms and documents that will need to be reviewed.
9am to 10amI continue submitting any forms that need to be reviewed that might have been emailed to me last night of earlier in the morning.
10am to 11amThis is our Regulatory and Budget Meeting. During this meeting we discuss where we are with each study, whether we have IRB approval, regulatory documents complete, contract and budget done, any issues with studies (changes to protocol, adverse events that need to be looked at. We also discuss any new studies that we might decide to take part in and submission times.
11am to 12pmThe meeting continues until 1 pm.
12pm to 1pmThe meeting continues until 1 pm
1pm to 2pmlunch 1 pm-2pm
2pm to 3pmBack to email to catch up on any communications that have occurred during my meeting. I usually get about 200 plus emails a day.
3pm to 4pmTime to submit the items in my email, start any new consents that need to be typed. Return any phone calls from the day. And do any filing that might need to be done. All communication with the sponsor has to be saved and printed and stored in the master Regulatory binders for the study.
4pm to 5pmAt this time I leave work and commute home (about 1 hours and 15 minutes)
5pm to 6pmDrive time and then I pick up my daughter from soccer practice at 6.
6pm to 7pmTime to cook dinner and eat.
7pm to 8pmBaths and time on the couch with the computer. This is where I check my work email again and see if there is anything that I need to respond to before morning.
8pm to 9pmFamily time on the couch.
9pm to 10pmFamily time on the couch.
10pm to 11pmTime for bed
11pm to 12amShould be asleep by now and ready to do it all over again in the morning.

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I started working in another department and when the job was posted I applied.

What was the application process?
I did an electronic application with an attached resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I also did several interviews on different levels, and panel interview with my now peers. I interviewed with the person that I was replacing, followed by my now director, then a panel interview with my peers, followed by an brief introduction to the VP.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked about organizational skills, where I wanted to be in 5 years, how I worked under pressure and to give and example. I was asked what I knew about the position, my philosophy on change. I how I dealt with conflict.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, and we have an-going support in my department. There is always the time that you might have a question and everyone in my department is willing to answer any question as they arise

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I went through a 2 month training period. The first month was observation only. I watched the previous RRC and learned as she showed me the ropes. I then took the reigns in the second month and she watched me work and helped me if I can across any problems and she was able to correct any mistakes that I made since she was observing me.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
College prepared me for my job, by teaching me organization and balance if nothing else. In this position you have to have those skills in order to keep yourself above water

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship, but I do feel that it would have been helpful.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start with college, you will need at least a BS degree to qualify. I have a degree in Healthcare administration. I would also suggest taking the SOCRA exam to get you CCRC.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
In order to succeed at the job that I am doing, you must have good communication skills. These skills have to be backed up with the ability to multitask and you must be a very organized person.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes a college degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Start by getting your education, follow this up with researching the facility that you wish to work. Make sure this is a supportive environment that is willing to grow and watch you grow as a person and as an employee.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I will be here until I retire. Maybe not in the same position since there is always times to grow, but definitely at this facility.

What are your current career goals?
I am happy where I am at this time in my career, but I am always on the look out for the opportunity to expand my knowledge.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This is a career that most people don’t even know exists. If someone is interested in this career choice I would recommend that they call the research facility and ask to observe before making that choice so they know what they are getting into.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1materials Management coordinator2 years40000took care of the ordering and supplies and medications for a 379 bed facility.
Prior Job 2OR Pharmacy Tech2 years38000Prepared and dispensed IV medication for all surgery that occurred in our 18 suite surgery facility.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7AshworthHealth Care Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)