Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner (Female, Age 42) in Tullahoma, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 42 who works as a Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner in Tullahoma, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner
Salary $62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 40
Company Size (not answered)
Location Tullahoma, TN
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a non-profit mental health center. We are one of the largest non-profit providers in the US despite being located in Tennessee, only. We offer medical (psychiatric), therapy, case management, vocational rehabilitation & children’s services.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I provide psychiatric evaluations and medication management for the mentally ill.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have PPO health insurance, retirement, and accrue paid time off based on hours worked per week/month & time with the company.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I feel am well-compensated at my current position.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I see an average of 3 patients an hour, 2 if I am doing a psychiatric evaluation. I also work closely with the therapists & case managers as well. I like this because it benefits the client (patient).

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am See patients.
9am to 10am See patients.
10am to 11am See patients.
11am to 12pm See patients.
12pm to 1pm Lunch (some days I work through lunch & leave work an hour earlier).
1pm to 2pm See patients.
2pm to 3pm See patients.
3pm to 4pm See patients.
4pm to 5pm Supervision with my supervising physician. I do this twice a week as I work in 2 different clinics.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Newspaper.

What was the application process?
I submitted a resume.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a group interview with several clinic managers & then finally interviewed with the psychiatrist who is now my supervising physician.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What type of patients did I work with during my preceptorship. Which patients did I feel most comfortable with, which ones did I find most challenging. The psychiatrist asked me specific medication questions, i.e. what type of meds would I use for certain presenting problems.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, I was going in to a position that another NP left a month previously & was given little training. I had to pick it up as I went.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
In order to be a nurse practitioner, you must have an M.S.N. & nearly every state requires you to be board certified as well. That entails taking a $200 – $300 exam.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
For the most part, however my education was heavy on the therapy side of my job & less on the medication aspect.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Not really, the NP I worked with during my preceptorship was busy trying to maintain her private practice & I don’t feel I learned as much from her as others did from their preceptors.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Find a *good* advanced practice nursing (M.S.N.) program, I chose Vanderbilt University School of Nursing. One would need to choose a specialty as well, psychiatric NP is only offered at a handful of universities.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Being able to roll with the changes, you never know who is going to come through your office door & working with the mentally ill can be a challenge. You need to be compassionate as well because sometimes the ones that need your help the most can be the most difficult to deal with. Orginizational skills are a must because medical records and charts cannot be neglected.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You have to have a MSN to be an advanced practice nurse or nurse practitioner as it is more commonly called.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
School only gave you the background to find your job, you will learn more on the job than you did in school.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes – I like where I work, the people I work with & the small town I live in.

What are your current career goals?
This is it.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I have been able to get nearly all of my student loans repaid because I am working in an ‘underserved’ (rural) area. I had $99,000.00 in student loans from 2 years of nursing school (Vanderbilt). I have had $85,000.00 of that paid back by HRSA.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Art teacher 12 years 28000 7th & 8th grade art teacher (also certified to teach psychology).
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Cumberland University Education & Art B.A.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
Vanderbilt University School of Nursing MSN

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.