In School Suspension Monitor (Female, Age 49) in Auburn, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 49 who works as a In School Suspension Monitor in Auburn, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleIn School Suspension Monitor
Salary$15,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationAuburn, NY
Years Experience5 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Barrow County Alternative School. We have about 25 employs.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
When a student is assigned to ISS, the teachers send work for the students to do. I monitor the students to make sure that they complete their work and help them with any questions that they might have.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1.25 sick days a month, United Health Care Insurance, Teachers Retirement

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does. I love the interaction with my co-workers. They are like my second family.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Class room. I like my room, I have all my things in there that make me and the students feel at ease.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 1
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amSign in at the front office. Walk to the computer server room and change out the backup tapes. Continue up the hall to my room. Put my pocket book in my file cabinet and lock it. Turn on my computer and check my emails. Get my lunch note book and go to the lunchroom to watch the students as they arive for work.
8am to 9amAt 8:00 I take the middle school students to my room and watch them until 8:30. At 8:30 I send the students to their classrooms. At 8:35 my ISS students come in and I prepare work for them to do. At 9:00 I take lunch orders and write them down so I can call them in at 9:30.
9am to 10am9:30 I call the lunch orders in. 9:35 I take attendance and enter any absences that there might be. After attendance I take my ISS students on a bathroom break.
10am to 11amStart to grade any student work that is completed. 10:55 lunch is brought to the classroom and the students have lunch.
11am to 12pm11:25 lunch is over and the students return to work. I help with any questions that they might have. Continue to grade work that is completed by the student.
12pm to 1pmIf needed I will assign more work for the students. 1:15 I take the students on another bathroom break.
1pm to 2pmContinue to help any students that are having any problems with their class work. Grade more work that has been completed.
2pm to 3pmStudents sill working and Im still grading papers. At 2:30 the students are dismissed, and I stay with the students until their name is called to go.
3pm to 4pmTurn off my computer, turn off lights, put my walkie-talkie back on the charger, get my pocketbook out of the file cabinet and go home. That is the end of my day.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I worked in the lunchroom that provides lunches for the school. A job came open and I asked if I could have the job. I was told that they would love to have someone eork here with a heart lie mine

What was the application process?
I was already working for the school system so all I had to do was take a test to see if I had the qualifacations to become a Parapro.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
No, I just happen to be in the right place at the right time. All I did was ask if I could have the job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, my coworkers were wonderful to help me find my bearings.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No there wasn’t. All I had to do was take a test.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I have always loved children and I worked in a Day Care for 9 years brefore I went to work with the school system.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
They would have to show love and support for at risk and troubles children. It takes a special person to do what we do.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A kind, open and loving heart.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Go with the flow, but dont let them run over you. Make sure that the students stay on task.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, because one day, even at my age, I plan on going back to school and getting a teaching degree.

What are your current career goals?
I want to be able to go to collage and get my teaching degree in Early Childhood Education.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I LOVE MY JOB.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Lunchroom Worker1.5 years13000Prepare food for the students, serve meals, wash dishes, cashier.
Prior Job 2Building Blocks Child Care9 years24000I helped to run two Day Cares. Order food and sometimes cook food. Help in rooms when needed. Pick up children from the schools. Plan summer field trips. Keep up with enrollments.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/AN/AN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.