Supervisor (Female, Age 24) in bear, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Supervisor in bear, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleSupervisor
Salary
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week35
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbear, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
i work for a company that sells exotic animals like monkies

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
i meet with potential clients for sales of animals and animal supplies

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
two weeks vacation, full dental and medical 401 k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes it does. I enjoy it becuase it doesn;t get lonely and i enjoy the company of others

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work alot from home on my computer. I talk to alot of people on the phone and set up times to meet with them in their homes or offices. I also work at our pet store doing whatever is nessecary

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 7
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amgo to my pet store and get the shelves ready for opening
9am to 10amwork as a cashier
10am to 11amwork as chashier
11am to 12pmtake a break
12pm to 1pmchasier
1pm to 2pmchasier
2pm to 3pmgo home and get on the computer

3pm to 4pmcontact clients about possible sales
4pm to 5pmcontact clients about sales
5pm to 6pmtake care of any money transactions
6pm to 7pmna
7pm to 8pmna
8pm to 9pmna
9pm to 10pmna
10pm to 11pmna
11pm to 12amna

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
A friend of mine owns the buisisness and i always wanted to be a part of it

What was the application process?
I volenteered for the company for a year and made a effort to be helpful in a company i respected

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no interview because i already was involved in the company and the owner was my friend

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes because they slowly got me more and more involved in their buisiness to make sure i could handle myself

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
there was no job training given by my job, unless you include the college degree necessary to work with animals

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes because you have to be prepared for anything when you work with animals so it is good the knowledge needed to be save

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Start out small with to get experience with animals, such as a pet store. Get a college degree in the field that you want and volenteer as much as possible. Having a job in the animal field is easy because i really care about these animals having a good home

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
people will have to be all around loving. You have to love animals and be a people person all at the same time in order to be successful.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes you need experience with pets for your own knowledge and a college degree so you get hired

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
it is definitaly exciting working with such fun animals

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because i always knew i wanted to work with animals

What are your current career goals?
to own a pet store of my own

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cashier1 year7.50 per hourworking a pet store
Prior Job 2manager2 years8.25manager at a pet store

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
4university of delawareveternarian
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.