Addiction Psychiatry (Male, Age 22) in Long Beach, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 22 who works as a Addiction Psychiatry in Long Beach, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleAddiction Psychiatry
Salary$275,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLong Beach, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a non-profit drug treatment facility that treats adolescents from low income families in urban areas.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I go over patient charts and change medication in accordance with treatment and changes in mental health.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
None.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. There are a variety of professionals each with a different background so there is some great chemistry between people. It makes the word day more enjoyable.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work with other physicians as well as the nursing staff.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 6
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10amArrive at work. Meeting with staff. Discuss patients with nurses.
10am to 11amMake rounds with patients.
11am to 12pmMake rounds with patients.
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmGroup therapy with patients. This involves groups of ten patients. We discuss treatment goals, patient histories, life goals, etc.
2pm to 3pmSecond staff meeting with nurses.
3pm to 4pmMeet with research team. We work with outside universities who conduct research on our patients.
4pm to 5pmPaperwork.
5pm to 6pmDrive home.
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral

What was the application process?
Resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. I was interviewed individually.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Don’t remember.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I went through extensive training and felt comfortable when I started.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Sort of. I was trained in addiction psychiatry but not adolescent addiction psychiatry.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I went through medical school and clinical rotations that exposed me to what I currently deal with at work.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Partially. Again, I didn’t see a lot of adolescents in my rotations.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Do exceptionally well in school and volunteer.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organizational skills, communication skills.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
MD, MBA

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Read research articles in your field.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. I plan to start my own treatment center.

What are your current career goals?
Own a non-profit company like the one I work for that targets the same demographics.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Addiction Psychiatrist4250000I treat the comorbidity issues with adolescents who have drug problems.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.1CSULBBA Psych, minors in chemistry and biology
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
NAUSCMD

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.