Project Manager (Female, Age 27) in Reston, VA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 27 who works as a Project Manager in Reston, VA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleProject Manager
Salary$85,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationReston, VA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in an IT firm that deals with development and maintenance of software projects. We also have a big HR department and a production department.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I work as a Project Manager and my duties include supervising and managing software projects. I also have final decision making responsibilities in all aspects of the software development and deployment process.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have benefits like Bonus, 401k, medical insurance etc.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Yes I do

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does and I love the job I do. I am a team player and have always loved working with my team members

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is very close to my home and I love working at this place as it offers a very nice environment and great facilities. Ofcourse, compensation plays a major role too.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amn/a
8am to 9amThis is the time I usually get to office and prepare a list of things to be done for the day on a sticky note. This helps me prioritize my work and get the job done by the end of the day. Today is a monday and workload is hectic.
9am to 10amI have to make phone calls to clients whom we are doing projects for and follow up with them regarding any changes they might need in certain modules of the project. I also update them on the progress we are making. It is a good thing to often check in with the client. This makes them feel we are very interested and care about their project. It also adds a personal touch which they appreciate very much.
10am to 11amWe usualy have meetings scheduled at this time on a monday. My role is to assign work to each member of my team who are basically team leaders. I interact with them about the needs of the clients and all the projects in hand. We also discuss dead lines and status of each module etc. I also address any problems or issues that might have arised.
11am to 12pmI meet up with top management and discuss issues or pending projects and also submit reports. We have a small meeting about goals and progress that are being made with the current projects.
12pm to 1pmI am off for lunch at this time.
1pm to 2pmAfter lunch I am involved in a training session with new employees. My role is to lecture about the latest trends and distribute handouts to the employees and also to teach them the current technology and company practices. We also have a question and answer session in the end. These classes are for 2 hours and is just one session.
2pm to 3pmThe training continues into the next hour…
3pm to 4pmSometimes new and potential clients visit us to get an upfront view of our work practices and environment. They also like to discuss their needs and ideas. I meet up with them at the conference hall and do a presentation of past projects just to give them an idea of how we do things.
4pm to 5pmI prepare and wrap up all the reports for the day and send them to the top level through email. Check in with the team leaders to follow up on their progress. Give them suggestions and ideas and leave the office by 5.00pm
5pm to 6pmn/a
6pm to 7pmn/a
7pm to 8pmn/a
8pm to 9pmn/a
9pm to 10pmn/a
10pm to 11pmn/a
11pm to 12amn/a

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I found my current position by referring to newspapers and giving ads on the Internet.

What was the application process?
I submitted my resume online and also sent resumes and cover letters by mail to companies

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had to interview for the position I hold. It involved a three step process. A technical interview, group discussion and a personal interview. It was very competitive and an exciting opportunity.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
I was asked a variety of questions related to my field which is Microsoft specialization. We also had a very interesting group discussion and the personal interview was a breeze. You just have to have the winning attitude!

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes he did. I was given a very brief introduction to the workings of the organization and the team members. I started off with that and am doing great now. I attribute it to my employer.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Not really but we have training every now and then to update ourselves with the new technologies that arise every few days. Its very vital and informative.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Definitely. My educational background is the main criteria that I am in this position today.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend that they eqip themselves with a good educational background and valuable certifications. Work experience is also very vital. I would suggest they also have a winning and a never-say-die attitude

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
A person in my position requires social skills, a great degree of technical knowledge and a good degree from a reputable uinversity is a plus. Also, the way they carry and present themselves makes a big difference.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitely. A degree is vital. An advanced degree is definitely a big plus.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
The best advice I would give is to put a lot of effort in getting a college education and pursure higher education. Also do some SUN or Microsoft certifications. It would drive you forward in the industry!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It definitely is. This position could take me to great heights and push me up the corporate ladder if I continue to give it my best. I feel I am doing good at work judging by the compliments I get and also by my contributions

What are your current career goals?
My current career goal is to be an Operational manager to a very large division of my company.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I am enjoying the work that I do and would continue to enjoy it!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1System Analyst1 year50k + 2kI was responsible for programming important modules assigned to me. ALso was involved in people management and overseas assignments.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
5University of Madras, IndiaBS Computer Science
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4.9University of MarylandMS Computer Science

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.