Manager (Female, Age 23) in los angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 23 who works as a Manager in los angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager
Salary$81,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationlos angeles, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Publishing company for young adult fiction.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Managing team of 20 individuals, in addition to reading manuscripts and decide which ones will be made into books.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacaction, 1 sick day a month, retirement 401k

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes. I like this or I would not have chosen to be part of management. It is frustrating though when workers are incompetent.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I am a manager but work with my own supervisor to efficiently manage them.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 6
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amat home.
8am to 9amat home
9am to 10amarrive at the office. punch in time card. sit down at desk and look at my list of the days activities.
10am to 11amGet started on activity one. Usually this regards receiving a manuscript that my readers found interesting and beginning to read it myself.
11am to 12pmIf meeting is necessary with staff, this is when I will have it. Generally we discuss where everyone is on their current projects, meeting deadlines, etc… I act as manager.
12pm to 1pmLunchtime
1pm to 2pmThis is when works get really busy. I have to respond to any calls from clients or higher ups that I have received throughout the day, regarding the books my staff and I are reading. I am also juggling trying to finish a substantial amount of chapters from the mornings readings. Occasionally, I will have to pitch a book to a higher up during this time.
2pm to 3pmUsually the time when I continue with the activities from 1-2. Also I begin to write summaries of the manuscripts I am reading. I give my notes to be delivered to the higher ups.
3pm to 4pmMake rounds around the office to ensure everything is running smoothly. Return to desk and continue to try to finish the “book of the day”
4pm to 5pmFinishing up work and go home
5pm to 6pmhome
6pm to 7pmhome
7pm to 8pmhome
8pm to 9pmhome
9pm to 10pmhome
10pm to 11pmhome
11pm to 12amhome

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
interned there intially and worked my way up

What was the application process?
submitted resume and was called back for an interview.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, one interview as the position was unpaid. It was an individual interview with a manager at the company.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I thought I’d be a good fit for their company, what I could contribute.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really, management cannot really be taught, its more touch and go.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, a training seminar with corporate for three successive days.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
I was adequately prepared for the writing aspect of the job, though my educational training did nothing for the reading part of the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
It prepared me for the rudimentary basics, but the kind of tasks I am given now are enormous compared to my work here as an intern.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Intern for us.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Have good writing skills, and ability to identify books that are marketable.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Its a matter of whether you are a good reader or not, something that cannot be taught.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Intern for a summer and make yourself indispensable.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Absolutely, I would be satisfied to remain at this level as it is a good fit for me.

What are your current career goals?
Keep current job!

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I love what I do, for anyone who loves reading and writing its the perfect place to be.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Intern10 weeks0Interned with magazine. Much coffee fetching, copying, although was responsible for calendar layout section.
Prior Job 2Lifeguard2 months25 an hourLifeguard for small children at day camp

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.9UCLACommunication
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.