Crash Performance Engineer (Male, Age 34) in Sterling Heights, MI

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Crash Performance Engineer in Sterling Heights, MI. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCrash Performance Engineer
Salary$78,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week42
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSterling Heights, MI
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
General MOtors – Automotiv Manufacturer; over 100,000 employees.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Managing different crash sensing requirments, vehicle crash calibration

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2.5 weks vacation, 401k match, health plan, sick days

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, my job is very much interactive. It is someting I like.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I just ask for advice/consultations in some cases.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 4
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amBeing at work at 6:00 AM. This way I am avoiding a traffic rush. Reading emails.
8am to 9amGroup meeting. Listening to the work rellated updates form the coworkers.
9am to 10amGroup meeting still going on. I am reporting on ativites the programs I am responsible for. Getting feedback from the coworkers. The manager is giving report on the administative issues.
10am to 11amBack at the desk, reviewing test data from the reent tests
11am to 12pmLunch Break
12pm to 1pmReviewing test data, interacting with the test engineers
1pm to 2pmA program meeting: participating in the discussion related to the program developments with other engineers working on the program. Coordinating future test plans.
2pm to 3pmFollow up on the questions raised during the meeting. Wraping up with emails and phone calls for the day.
3pm to 4pm3:30 PM leaving for home (traffic is still light)
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted resume

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I had a 4 hour interview with 2 hiring managers. individual.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
it was a “situation” based questions. “What would I do/done . . . “

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was given opportunity to have supporting classes, as needed

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Training was limited to the company’s internal processes.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, the job requirments are very techincal in the nature

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, my internship was also in the engineering field

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
This job is highly specific, you need to have some experinece/ exposure to the crash/safety requirments. Start with some entry level jobs in the field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Again, techical skills / experience in the filed are very important. Organizational skills will help with managing different requirments/programs.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes, techical (engineering) degree.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure to follow on the time deadlines (due dates). Interconect with other engineers working on supporting fields.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
I wish to move on within company if possible. If it does not happen soon will be looking to move on.

What are your current career goals?
I also got my MBA so I will be looking to get more experinece in the management field. I am hopping to be able to look for a new job in a differnt field as well.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
So far it was very enjoyable.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Software Engineer5 years64000Embedded microchip programing/ Automotive applications/ Safety
Prior Job 2N/AN/AN/AWorked only at one place prior to the current

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.78University of DetroitEngineering/BA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
3.5Oakland UniversityEngineering/MS

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.