Design Engineer (Male, Age 24) in salinas, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 24 who works as a Design Engineer in salinas, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDesign Engineer
Salary$75,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
Locationsalinas, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
manufactures valves

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
design and analyse valves and its molds

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health insurance, 3 weeks vacation

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
yes I work in teams and I like it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 5
Hours: 7
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amcheck day schedule. proceeded with work of design
8am to 9amhad some doubts so went into the shop floor and discussed
9am to 10ammeeting with associates regarding the design of new component
10am to 11ammeeting continued
11am to 12pmwork in design continued
12pm to 1pmlunch
1pm to 2pmmolding defect caused leakage in valve checked it
2pm to 3pmcontinue with work and had a break of 10 minutes
3pm to 4pmsubmitted the designs to boss and discussed about designs
4pm to 5pmback home
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet

What was the application process?
electronic application

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
none

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
i was selected without an interview

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes the job is for a Mechanical Engineer

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
learn the design tools well

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
team work is required and organization skills are not much required. The technical skills required are 4 year degree in BSME and knowledge of AutoCAD and ProE

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Have good knowledge of plastics and valves

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes because I am mechanical engineer and like designing

What are your current career goals?
to get a promotion

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
nothing else

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Design Engineer1 year30$/hrDesign pipe fittings
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.6SVU, indiaMechanical Engineering, B.S
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.