Real Estate Agent (Female, Age 45) in berkley, MA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 45 who works as a Real Estate Agent in berkley, MA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Real Estate Agent
Salary $70,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location berkley, MA
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
independent real estate agent with remax that has locations all over the US I would have to say there are about 25 people in my one office.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
finding real estate listings, meeting with clients,setting up listings,showings and closings.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I actually work alot out of my home. With my company their is someone answering phones and taking faxes etc. for us if we are not there. I do go into the office now and then. I enjoy seeing the other agents and finding out what is going on in the field.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My time is somewhat split between office and home. I love the fact that I can pretty much schedule things when I need them to be scheduled. I also love the fact that some of the time I am out and about on showings or meeting with clients. Then some of the time I am home or at the office. It never gets boring because you are never dealing with the same people or doing the same thing over and over again.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 7
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 8
Job Title: 6
Level of Responsibility: 4
The Actual Work: 3

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am I checked my email because alot of correspondence is done this way nowadays. Nothing significant came in today.We do alot through the internet. We can even set up clients with the Multiple Listing Service so that they get an email whenever a property meeting their criteria comes onto the market.
9am to 10am I went into the office to see if there are any messages for me. There were none. I had to make a followup phone call for a showing. I set up a showing at a property I have listed for 5:30 today. I also called the property owner to make sure this time is okay for them and it is. A showing is just what it sounds like. It is when you take an interested party to a house they want to see and “show” them the house and property.
10am to 11am
11am to 12pm
12pm to 1pm
1pm to 2pm I made up some flyers at home to send out to a list of clients I try to keep in touch with from time to time. I do all my business by referral so it is important to drop people a line at least once or twice a year so you stay in their minds.
2pm to 3pm I finished up the flyers and put them in envelopes and addressed them. I like to include something with my flyers such as a magnet or sports shedule. Something that people will put on their fridges or something so they are reminded of you from time to time.
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm I went to the post office to mail the flyers. Sometimes this can seem expensive because I have over 300 I mail out. But it is so important to stay in touch. I also checked in with the office again. No messages.
5pm to 6pm I had a showing at my property at 5:30. I think it went well. They seemed really interested. We do not have any huge issues with this house and it has been well mantained. I am hoping it will do good.
6pm to 7pm I checked in at the office one more time on my way home. Someone would like to see another property I have so I give them a call and make an appointment for tomorrow. Right now I am afraid this is typical day in a slooow real estate market.
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I actually got my license and called a family friend and asked if he wanted an assistant. That is how I started.

What was the application process?
No formal application. Just a meeting with him.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
no

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
I am considered self employed. The course did prepare me well and I passed the test.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had to go for a training course in real estate.They covered all the real estate laws and procedures. I also had to take and pass a test to get my license.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
my real estate education sure did

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to real estate classes and get your license. Then try to find a real estate agent who will hire an assistant. This will really help you learn the ropes. You won’t be thrown into the field.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
You need great social skills. You deal with all kinds of people all the time. You really have to like working with people. Sometimes you have to play mediator between parties too. Organizational skills are a must. There is a ton of paper work and appointments to keep track of.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You really do need the classes and refresher courses. Laws and building codes are changing all the time.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Like I said, I really think if you can work as an assistant first it helps a great deal. You get to learn while you work.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes,because I would like to make this my career for life. I love it!

What are your current career goals?
to try and get some more business. the market is really slow right now

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
none

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 sales associate 3 years 8000 assist customers and run the cash register
Prior Job 2 teller 5 years 17000 cashing checks,taking and counting deposits,balancing cash drawers

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.