Director Of Technology (Male, Age 41) in Brewerton, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 41 who works as a Director Of Technology in Brewerton, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirector Of Technology
Salary$67,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBrewerton, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
We have approx. 1600 students and 250 employees. This is a public school.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
My duties are to maintain the networks, logins, passwords, plan for future deployments, budgets, training, and basic computer planning and upgrades.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, 4 weeks vacation, 15 sick leave, pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes it does and I like it. Most of my time is spent working on problems, planning for the next year and working out details from the higher levels of the organization.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in an office with three others. I miss the privacy I had in prior jobs.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 6
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrived at 7:00 and prepared for class with to be taught. This was completed by 8:00
8am to 9amI taught a class from 8:00 until 8:50 on Internet Tools.
9am to 10amBegan at 9:00 checking references on a potential employee and returning phone calls. Began working on numbers for purchasing of equipment that will be needed for the installations in the coming year. This involved preparing a bid sheet for many items that are soon to be out of date bid items.
10am to 11amContinued to work on the bid proposal and located various items within old bid sheets. This was time consuming because in the past there has been no one stop bid location.
11am to 12pmContinued with bid work and follow up on reference check on potential employee. Met with team members regarding possible employee issues.
12pm to 1pmLunch from 12 – 1
1pm to 2pmPrepared purchase work form to review possible purchases and to evaluate needs of the department. Met with team to discuss purchases and possible solutions to problems with past purchases and installations.
2pm to 3pmMet with faculty to discuss training issues that need to be addressed, needs, wants and future goals. Met with CTL Board to address prior conference and to evaluate success/failure.
3pm to 4pmPrepared work schedule for team for next week and went over possible installation issues with new lab. Discussed the possible solution to the Mac user group and how they can better integrate into the current network.
4pm to 5pmPrepared for meeting with instructional team for Tuesday. Looking at new technologies that may be used within the classroom and possible conference options for team growth and training.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Networking

What was the application process?
resume, application, transcripts, writing sample…all done electronically

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes…interviews were conducted with a committee of about six people. Secondary interviews with the supervisor.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Most of these related to training, dealing with subordinates etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. There were many things that I was not ready for but you really have to pick up a lot of that on your own.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. Mainly on the job and my education in college.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
As best as it could. Most of what I had to do I had to pick up later.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
The person will need to have the correct credentials, experience, and networking. They also need to be able to work with people of differing levels of technical ability.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills, organizational, technical, teaching

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes…minimum Master’s degree

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Get a thick skin and be ready to work with very different types of people.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes. It is what I had planned on doing.

What are your current career goals?
Improve the technology at my current location, expand the capabilities of our district.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
No it is a good field but you have to really enjoy working with people of vary diverse backgrounds

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Model Schools Coord352000Model schools trainer
Prior Job 2Instructor442000instructor

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2.7

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.8RegentsBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
4ECUInstructional Tech

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.