Office Manager (Female, Age 28) in Los Angeles, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 28 who works as a Office Manager in Los Angeles, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$62,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week38
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLos Angeles, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Our firm provides business development consulting for pharmaceutical and biotech companies of all sizes. In recent years we have specialized in product divestments for large multi-national companies.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Bookkeeping, Corporate Publicity, New Business Development, some client work, keeping track of all projects in company database, Marketing, Human Resources, tech support

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
10 vacation days, sick days when needed, HMO health insurance from Aetna, dental insurance (individual plan, company reimburses), yearly bonus towards personal IRA account, $500 yearly education stipend.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated. I could likely make more elsewhere, but I know that the company pays me as they are able to and they give me incentives to stay.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I interface in person with my boss and via webmail and phone with the other partners and associates of the firm. I provide support to the entire team and am the only administrative employee in my company. I do enjoy working with others and feel as though I am an essential member of the team.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Co-workers is n/a for me because I don’t really have any.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at the office, make coffee, check my e-mail, check the voicemail. Get settled in for the day
8am to 9amMeet with my boss, go over any urgent priorities. Touch base with our other offices (in different time zones) to make sure there is nothing they need before the end of their day.
9am to 10amWork on client project. Liase with the client and answer his questions. Update project website as directed by client e-mails.
10am to 11amMeet with boss again to go over things. Take part in conference calls on various topics. Often the conference calls are internal pertaining to our business development efforts. Other times with clients about their projects so I can keep up to date.
11am to 12pmOut of office running errands. Looking at office space for us to move in to. Picking up the mail. Stop at the office supply store.
12pm to 1pmPick up lunch on the way back to the office and eat it at my desk while reading articles about our industry. I am responsible for screening certain sources for deals and industry information that others may have missed. If I find something relevant, I e-mail it to the team.
1pm to 2pmBookkeeping: I prepare the invoices, keep track of bank accounts, bills to pay, invoices due from clients.
2pm to 3pmMarketing strategy: I prepare press releases, send them out, work on our website to make sure it is up to date, work with our graphic designers on presentations, christmas cards, brochueres, etc.
3pm to 4pmGo HOME!! I finish at 3 PM, however I check my e-mail from home and often reply to them when applicable.
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
craigslist.org

What was the application process?
submitted resume via e-mail.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
After submitting my resume, my future boss called me for a brief phone interview to confirm that I would be appropriate. At the conclusion of the phone interview he invited me to come in to his office for an in-person interview. At the end of that interview he informed me that he had a few more people to meet with and would be asking 3 back for second interviews and that I would be one of those asked back. He then called me to confirm that I would be asked back and set the time for the second interview. At the second interview I met with him and someone else. He then asked for, and contacted my references before offering me the position.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
He asked specific questions about my job experience, including details from my resume. For example: according to your resume you have experience with QuickBooks, tell me a bit more about that. He also asked me how I keep myself organized and how I handle prioritizing.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There wasn’t much training for the position. I already had the skills needed and only needed to learn the specifics of how things were done at this company. I spent sometime with the person who I was replacing, but that wasn’t very much help. I mostly picked up what I needed to know as I went along.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not sure. I feel that I learned more from my private high school than I did in college. Most of what I have learned over the years, that I use in my job, is to work hard and how to write.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
No.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Pay attention to detail and always be proactive. Do more than what is asked of you and make yourself valuable. My position here was possible because I had a stellar record and solid references from my previous companies.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Organized, detail-oriented, proactive, well spoken, well written, computer savvy, helpful, positive.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Definitely a certain level of intelligence, however not sure if that comes from education necesarily.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be willing to start at the bottom and work as hard as needed. Never feel you’re “too good” for a job, or that something “isn’t in your job description”. If your employers ask you to do it, then its your job!

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It is now. To be honest, it wasn’t what I had in mind, but after coming from the entertainment industry where it is just a matter of getting as much out of you as humanly possible, I am grateful to be part of an organization that appreciates me and depends on me.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to go to graduate school and learn more. Before this position I never knew what I would do for a career beyond being someone’s assistant, but now I have more of a sense for business and could see myself getting away from the administrative side of things and more into the business side.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Not that I can think of, but I love to talk about it so let me know if you need further information.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Tour Coordinator5 years and counting11000This is a position that I spend approximately 5-10 hours/week doing in my spare time. I still hold the position. I coordinate travel, contracts, accommodations and hospitality for a band.
Prior Job 2Publicist1 yearvarious (hourly)Pitching and securing media, follow up, event coordination, writing press releases.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:?

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.5Ithaca CollegeB.S. Communications
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.