Executive Administrative Assistant (Female, Age 40) in Garland, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Executive Administrative Assistant in Garland, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleExecutive Administrative Assistant
Salary$58,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week50
Company Size(not answered)
LocationGarland, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
HVAC and Refrigeration manufacturing; 15,000 international employees

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Exec Assistant for Chief Operating Officer; all calendar entries, filing, expense reimburseables, trade show planning, office management, executive meetings

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation; unlimited sick time (aside from short/long term leaves), BCBS insurance, 401K, pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I deal with executives and customers. Very important part of my job and I love it!

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Office – about 7 miles from home….love it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 5
Job Title: 4
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amArrive at work
8am to 9amPrepare for the day

Schedule meetings

9am to 10amAnswer emails; work on upcoming trade shows
10am to 11amSchedule meetings
11am to 12pmFiling, letters, expenses and reimburseables
12pm to 1pmLunch
1pm to 2pmTrade Shows
2pm to 3pmCustomer requests
3pm to 4pmMeeting
4pm to 5pmAnswer emails
5pm to 6pmLeave
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Internet

What was the application process?
submitted e-resume, several levels of interviews

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. Three separate interviews: first with the recruiter, second with Hiring Manager, third with other executive.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Why I feel I’m a good candidate; “How would you handle” scenarios

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes — as far as technically. No — as far as experience and on-the-job training.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Graduated from technical vocational school specializing in executive administration skills, accounting, and computers.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes – I trained specifically for this role.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Be persistent and creative in reaching the hiring manager. “Who-You-Know seems to be more important than “what-you-know.”

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Extremely polished and professional. Highly versed with dealing with executives and customers. Go-getter attitude and highly approproachable–but still assertive. Extremely organized and prepared for last-minute requests. Know the ins-and-outs of your company.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be confident and show people what you know and show your professionalism.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No – I want to move out of this field and work in education

What are your current career goals?
Will be completing degree next year and will apply for education position

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Admin/Market Asst18 years25K to 50KOffice management, desktop publishing, clerical duties, customer interaction
Prior Job 2Office Mgr345K

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.75

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.8Liberty UniversityB.S. – Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.