Assistant Controller 

(Male, Age 34) from Collingswood, NJ

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Assistant Controller in Collingswood, NJ. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Assistant Controller
Salary $48,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 55
Company Size (not answered)
Location Collingswood, NJ
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
A small-mid-sized trucking company with offices on the east and west coasts

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
general ledger, monthly financial statements

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
health, dental, 401K

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
My job does entail working with others on a daily basis and I generally like this part of my job. However, not everyone understands the deadlines involved with the timely preparation of monthly financial statements.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 1
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 2

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am
9am to 10am
10am to 11am Arrive at work, check company email and phone messages. Print reports
11am to 12pm Reconcile bank statements and enter data into accounting sytem
12pm to 1pm meeting with boss to convert payroll
1pm to 2pm lunch
2pm to 3pm get bank statements from clerk, handle collections as needed
3pm to 4pm ongoing
4pm to 5pm reconcile statements
5pm to 6pm make copies of statements for each company and for CPA firm
6pm to 7pm ongoing and end of day
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Recruiting firm

What was the application process?
submitted my resume through a recruiter

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I interviewed for my job with the owner of the company and the Financial Officer

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
You can never be too prepared for your job, especially if you are taking over for someone who may have been less qualified for the job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to college and get his/her B.S. in Accounting and then work toward his/her MBA in Finance

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
To pursue a position like mine a person should be detailed oriented, be good with numbers, and work well under pressure deadlines.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I feel that a bachelor’s degree or above is needed

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Put in your time, be willing to learn different jobs and try different areas of accounting such as health, cost, public/private,etc and see which is a better fit for them

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes-small company

What are your current career goals?

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Assistant Controller 2 1/2 yrs 55000
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Livingston College Communications/B.S.
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
Rutgers Accounting/MBA

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.