Continuity/Traffic Manager (Female, Age 32) in Citrus Heights, CA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 32 who works as a Continuity/Traffic Manager in Citrus Heights, CA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleContinuity/Traffic Manager
Salary$42,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationCitrus Heights, CA
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a large non-profit radio group where we have close to a hundred stations across the country.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I receive orders for events, PSA’s and promotional spots for scheduling. I enter the information, schedule it to air and work with audio producers to get the spots created. I also work with engineering to send legal ID’s and spot logs to new stations as they start up.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Free health insurance (Blue Cross), 401K, vacation increases as time with the company does.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
My compensation is fair for what I do.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I do work with a good number of people every day. Some are in the office, some are in our regional offices. It is something I enjoy. Working in a cubicle can be difficult so the people around you are very important.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work with management and my co-workers to get tasks done as well as discussing ways we can improve communication and procedures.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amN/A
8am to 9amN/A
9am to 10amI check logs to make sure everything ran correctly the night before, check and answer e-mails, troubleshoot anything that comes up.
10am to 11amAttend Creative Services, traffic meetings to go over upcoming station activity.
11am to 12pmEnter orders and revisions from regional managers. I print out the pages sent, import them into our production and traffic database, assign cart numbers to the spots, enter the schedule, copy the pages to distribute to production, traffic and management so the content can be checked (so it may be deemed appropriate for our audience).
12pm to 1pmEnter orders from regional staff.
1pm to 2pmLunch
2pm to 3pmEnter orders from regional staff.
3pm to 4pmEnter orders from regional staff.
4pm to 5pmVoice Community Calendars for our regional stations.
5pm to 6pmUpdate network database. Check City of Licenses, Contacts and orders to make sure all of the information is accurate.
6pm to 7pmN/A
7pm to 8pmN/A
8pm to 9pmN/A
9pm to 10pmN/A
10pm to 11pmN/A
11pm to 12amN/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Referral from a friend who worked here.

What was the application process?
Submitted a resume by e-mail

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a screening interview by phone, then an interview with my current boss.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
He asked about my previous jobs, management experience and my general history in media.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes. I wasn’t rushed to know everything overnight. There was room for growth which was very nice.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes. I trained on our traffic system. Spent time with each person in my department to learn about what they do and I also spent a lot of time with engineering to learn how we sent audio into the field (as we are a network).

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No. My classes were very textbook, but didn’t prepare me for real work in the industry.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Absolutely! It was invaluable. I was able to truly see the layout of my industry. It helped me decide the direction I wanted to take my career.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Starting out in media is very difficult, it is something you have to have the time and financial resources to commit too. My job is very specific to the industry so you do need to have a good knowledge of how broadcasting works. I worked in media for close to ten years before getting this job and even I had to train for it. I would start out as an administrative assistant in broadcasting and ask a lot of questions to the traffic department to learn about the position. Learn everything you can about broadcasting, it all ties into traffic.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They need to have excellent organizational skills, computer skills, and be an excellent problem solver. The job requires putting a puzzle together every single day, so enjoying a challenge is a plus. Being a multi-tasker and having good social skills is also important. You are working with people who make deals with a clients on a regular basis so it can get demanding. Be able to roll with the punches.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You don’t need a degree for my job, but I would recommend some college, broadcasting classes and general ed.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Be patient. Earning a good salary in broadcasting isn’t going to happen overnight. I would highly recommend an internship while in college before entering this field to decide it’s what you want. It’s very rewarding, but does take a while to solidfy a career as the industry can be volatile.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It originally wasn’t, but it has helped shape what I want to do in the future. I enjoy what I do, but don’t see it as what I want to do for the rest of my life. My personality needs a bit more creativity than the position offers. I like things changed up now and then.

What are your current career goals?
After doing promotions, business management and traffic I’ve found that I’d like to pursue voice over work. I’m very fortunate to be the Continuity and Traffic Manager for the Creative Services department so I’m able to step foot in that arena. I’d like to pursue it full time and being in this environment allows me to move in that direction.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Media is an incredibly fun and interesting career to have. I wouldn’t suggest it to someone who wants a creative job. It generally starts out that way, but it is so fast paced, creativity often gets left at the wayside due to deadlines. However if sales, news or music is of interest, it is a great place to be. It is a 40+ hour a week job, and it goes 24/7, but is fun at the same time. I’m glad I got into it when I did.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Business Manager2 years48000I received orders for events, PSA’s and promotional spots for scheduling. I entered the information, scheduled it to air and worked with audio producers to get the spots created. I also worked with corporate to close the books at the end of the month. Received and entered payments, sent out invoices and was the stations office manager.
Prior Job 2Traffic Manager1 year46000I received orders for events, PSA’s and promotional spots for scheduling. I entered the information, scheduled it to air and worked with audio producers to get the spots created.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3Sierra CollegeGeneral Education
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)