Sales Associate (Male, Age 25) in Mandeville, LA

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Sales Associate in Mandeville, LA. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Sales Associate
Salary $40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week 35
Company Size (not answered)
Location Mandeville, LA
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Large company that sells sunglasses

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
sell and market sunglasses

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under paid

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes, I like it interacting with other. It helps me develop my interpersonal skills

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
An office. It is very cramped.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 8
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 5
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am N/A
8am to 9am N/A
9am to 10am Get to work. Go over files
10am to 11am Interact with customers.
11am to 12pm Sales leads evaluation.
12pm to 1pm Lunch.
1pm to 2pm Interact with Customer
2pm to 3pm Potential new sales evaluation.
3pm to 4pm Call customers
4pm to 5pm Call customers.
5pm to 6pm Leave work.
6pm to 7pm N/A
7pm to 8pm N/A
8pm to 9pm N/A
9pm to 10pm N/A
10pm to 11pm N/A
11pm to 12am N/A

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
internet job search

What was the application process?
resume submission, manager interview, phone screening, drug test, regional manager interview

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes. It was a field test where they saw how I interacted with potential customers.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
What are your goals. What are your strengths and weaknesses.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, because technical knowledge and a work ethic are all it takes.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was trained in technical knowledge about the products.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, because it wasn’t relevant to this position.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I didn’t have an internship.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend fining one with more upward mobility.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
I believe it helps people hone social and organizations skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
No, not at all.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would recommend looking for a reputable company.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
No, it is just a place-holder job. I plan to move on to a better position once I have more experience.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to be a lawyer eventually.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 sales associate 3+ years 40000 sales in sunglasses
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.57

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3 Tulane Public Administration
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.