Bank Teller (Female, Age 22) in hampstead, NC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 22 who works as a Bank Teller in hampstead, NC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleBank Teller
Salary$40,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week
Company Size(not answered)
Locationhampstead, NC
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work in a nationally established banking branch.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manager customer account deposit and withdrawals, open and close personal accounts, exchange currencies, and anything else to do with customer banking needs.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
2 weeks vacation 1 week sick leave

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with a core group of men and woman that I have come to love and respect. We have all been there for several years.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in a banking branch with a relaxed and comfortably atmosphere for both employees and customers alike.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 7
Benefits: 5
Hours: 6
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 1
Level of Responsibility: 2
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amShort commute to work.
8am to 9amArrived at work and clocked in. I assisted a fellow teller in processing the deposits in the bank’s overnight deposit box. I also began to help train a new employee on how to collect and process those deposits.
9am to 10amTeller position- I processed withdrawals and deposits for customers, answered questions about discrepancies in their accounts, exchanged sums of money for different sums or coin currency, and updated interest deposits on several savings accounts for customers.
10am to 11amThis is my personal lunch hour, which I take in the branch’s well stocked break room.
11am to 12pmFilled in for a branch manager and moved into her office. I assisted customers in establishing or closing our their personal checking and/or savings accounts. I also opened several CD’s for a couple in their children’s names.
12pm to 1pmTeller position- I repeated the same processes from before. I also dealt with a particular customer who’s spouse had recently been making random charges and the woman thought her card number and information had been stolen. I helped trace the charges for her.
1pm to 2pmTeller position- I processed withdrawals and deposits for customers with my new trainee watching and then watched as he did a couple on his own.
2pm to 3pmMade a weekly run to a local office supply store for items the branch gets cheaper locally than through our wholesale distributor. I am still on the clock since this counts as an errand for the office.
3pm to 4pmFinal hour at work. My usual teller position. Met with my manager to discuss the schedule for the weekend and next week. I also restocked my station with all the necessary banking slips for the next teller.
4pm to 5pmCommute Home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was recommended to apply by a former employee and current friend.

What was the application process?
Submit resume, fill out additional application, meet for a personal interview, hired on trial basis.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I was asked to detail my resume with a manager and explain why I thought I was qualified for such a job.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
My previous work history, relationship to references, my qualifying skills, and my level of customer service experience.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, she followed up every day after I learned something new to make sure I had retained the information. She also asked several of my customers after transactions how my job performance was.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I was hired on a trial basis. I spent two months training with a teller and studying material provided to me by the manager.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, except for customer service relations I was well prepared. Its all fairly standard procedure and guidelines to learn and follow.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
Yes, I spent two years off and on interning in the personal finance sector.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I would recommend they be able to procress numbers and actions very quickly, and be able to expect the unexpected. Some people are never satisfied with your work, but you have to help them anyway.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Mathematics, social awareness, quick processing.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Treat every customer as if they were your favorite.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. I wanted to work in a bank since I was little. I love number and finance because they are so finite. I also feel I am getting the proper experience to advance to a higher position within the bank.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to become a banking manager where I work now or another branch close by. Other than higher pay, I wouldnt change much about the job I have now.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I think it is a great opportunity for someone fresh out of college or someone looking for a complete change in career. It is face-paced but always exciting.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Teller4 years35000Bank Teller-Manager personal accounts, process transactions, open and close personal accounts, exchange currencies.
Prior Job 2Office Assistant2 years12000Manage office duties, sell season passes, and answer telephones.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:4

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.7SUNY RocklandBusiness
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.