Line Worker (Female, Age 40) in beaver dam, NY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 40 who works as a Line Worker in beaver dam, NY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleLine Worker
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week48
Company Size(not answered)
Locationbeaver dam, NY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
manufacture of cream cheeses

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
work on a machine that makes cream cheese and other product of that sort and then clean the equipment after the product has all been used up

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
1 week vacation, dental vision, 401k, life insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am at an even pay scale for this area

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
working with others is not a problem for me, I like it

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
This would be a factory like area

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 3
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 7
The Actual Work: 4

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I went down to the unemployment center in my home town and look at the want ads

What was the application process?
paper application and testing

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
1 interveiw with two different people each at a different time

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Yes, talking with the supervisors on past jobs and my future goals and what I wanted to achieve out of this job and where I wanted to be in five years

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, they were very detailed in each process and it was not rushed, Plus if I still did not feel ready to do the job I was able to keep training alittle while longer

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Yes, there was a lot of safety training involved and machine training in many area of this plant

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No treally, I had not back ground training in this field before I started working here.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I did not have an internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go to the unemployment office in my area nad look up this place of employment

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
they should be very deadicated, loyal good work value

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
I feel just basic education is required

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
get lots of rest, and be willing to work alot of overtime

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
IIt is right now i do not have any plans on looking for another job at this time, i am very happy with what i do right now and the pay is just fine

What are your current career goals?
To keep the progression of my current job with any promotion that may come down the road

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
This is a great place to work for. I am very lucky to work here and have a job. Unlike some peole in America I Am Truly Blessed!

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1lead13 years39000various warehousing of product in the food industries
Prior Job 2paper837000manufacturing of paper good in the advertising feild

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/a
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
n/a

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.