Office Manager (Female, Age 29) in Las Vegas, NV

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Office Manager in Las Vegas, NV. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleOffice Manager
Salary$37,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationLas Vegas, NV
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a semi large group practice of doctors (radiologists)

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I manage the desk help as well as the medical assistants. I also handle all the human resources duties(hiring, training, benefits, vaction time, family leave,etc.), supplies ordering (medical and office), Helping out with the billing and coding. Talking to insurance companies when requiring approvals.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
401K, vacation, personal days, medical, dental and vision

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
I am well compensated for my position

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I am constantly working with others. Between answering to the doctors, answering questions from my office staff and lots of patient contact, yes I would say I deal with others on a daily basis. I love solving problems so I am constantly doing it. What I dislike is dealing with insurance companies

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 3
Benefits: 4
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 2
Supervisors: 1
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amGot up and got ready for my day.
8am to 9amheaded into work to open the office. I have a quick 10 minute office meeting to just get an idea of what is going to be done such as what kinds of calls the accounts recievables girl is going to be making. Reminders of certain deadlines that are looming.
9am to 10amOpen the doors to the practice and head to my office. I start preparing deposits for the bank.
10am to 11amI place orders for our office and medical supplies on the same day so I go around finding out what needs to be ordered both from the doctors, medical assistants and from my front office girls.
11am to 12pmIt’s the end of the month so I help the billing specialist prepare statements to be sent out. I set up the printer and let it start printing. It takes about an hour and a half for all of the statements to be printed out.
12pm to 1pmClose the office for lunch
1pm to 2pmCome back from lunch and check on the statements. When they are done we immediately start preparing the statements into envelopes and start getting them ready for the mail man to pick up.
2pm to 3pmfinishing up the statements. I have a patient that was referred to us for a mammogram but did not recieve a referral from the insurance company. I call the insurance company before she is able to see the doctor. When I am able to get through to someone at the referral desk. I explain the situation and was able to get the referral. I write down the referral number and the person’s name who gave me the referral
3pm to 4pmThe day is starting to come to a close. We finish up with the last of our patients for the day. I find out how close we are in making our deadlines and think about how we can make the deadlines..
4pm to 5pmclosed and go and pick up my daughter
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
I was lucky and was able to get my job from my boyfriend’s father

What was the application process?
I did have to submit a resume because I did have to interview with his partners as well

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had one interview with all of the doctors in the practice. There is 3 total.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Part of my interview process entailed what made me want to be a part of the medical field, how do i handle pressure and deadlines, was i detailed oriented, Did I have prior management experience, How would I handle conflicts in the office, How would I handle issues with customers and with the insurance companies.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
absolutely they helped me get settled and had me work with the soon to be former office manager to have her show me how things were done.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
I had 3 years of office management experience before I had my BA. Plus I had several years experience in customer service and working in an office enviroment.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes it did, it helped me be prepared with every aspect of my job. Management, marketing, accounting (I sometimes have to do payroll and be able to look at our accounts recievables and payables and figure out how to make sure we are getting paid by patience that owe us or insurance companies that owe us)

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
I had no internship

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Definately go to school. I have a BA in Healthcare Management which is very helpful and most insurance companies, doctor’s offices and even hospitals prefer you have it. If you can get yourself a job in a doctor’s office even if it’s just answering the phones. You’ll eventually be crossed trained for other things and that is a world of help in getting experience while you are in school

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
detailed oriented, organization skills is a must have, patience, customer service, communication skills, be open to learning new things.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Absolutely, BA in healthcare management

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Enjoy it. You get to be a part of the medical field with out the long hours of being a nurse or a doctor. You are never on call and you get to help doctor’s and nurses to provide the best care they can to patients while you are taking care of their behind the scene problems.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
It’s part of my employment plan because I want to move up into either a bigger practice or start managing at a hospital or at an insurance company. I would take what I’ve learned from this side and try to make changes.

What are your current career goals?
My current career goals would be to move up either to a bigger practice, hospital, or to an insurance company. I would like to see myself in a position where I get to make changes to improve the quality care of all patients.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1administrative assistant8 months23000answer phones, customer service, reports, balancing routes, printing out daily paperwork for route drivers, prepared deposits for bank
Prior Job 2office manager3 years50000I did all human resources, filled in for when agents called in sick, marketing, answering customer inquires via email and making out bound calls

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.1

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.6Kaplan UniversityBachelor’s of Science Healthcare Management
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.