Office Manager 

(Female, Age 48) from Wolfeboro, NH

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 48 who works as a Office Manager in Wolfeboro, NH. We have removed all names and personal information in order to protect privacy. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete one of our job profile surveys so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job Title Office Manager
Salary $35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Company Size (not answered)
Location Wolfeboro, NH
Years Experience 4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career 0
Education (not answered)
Income Rating 0 / 10
Interest Rating 0 / 10
Work-Life Rating 0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating 0 / 10

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a Construction Company in the office as the manager.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Billing…contacting clients who inquire about our services

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Medical…dental…life insurances

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
yes I do

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes I work witrh 2 other girls. I don’t mind as long as they pull thier weight.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 5
Co-Workers: 4
Supervisors: 3
Job Title: 7
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 8

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9am Office meeting at 8am. Things we need to take care of and people we need to contact on billing and contractors
9am to 10am Billing

Answering Phones and taking messages.

10am to 11am Meeting with a client on building a new addition to house. trying to fit them into the schedule for contrator to go and view site for estimate. That was a full hour.

11am to 12pm Helping employee fill accident report and filling it with the state
12pm to 1pm Lunch…1 hour
1pm to 2pm Aswering my messages.

Out at 2pm today

2pm to 3pm
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

Table of Contents

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?

What was the application process?

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Just a small interview. He had already got word from one of his friends on my skills

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
Asked about my skills

what hours I was available

….and “When can you start?”

It basicly was the eaiest interview I had ever held.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes and no. I felt it could of gone into more depth. Luckly I pick up fast.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Just being shown thier billing system, new hires…ect..

Once I was their for a bit how they wanted me to deal with clients good or bad.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Not really. Most of what I learn I did so in different jobs I held

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Secretary first they take a job with more responibilities little by little

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Good organizational skills

Typing Skills

Authoritive skills (social)

Computer Skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Make sure this is what you want, because as manager everyone will come to you with problems wether it be work or personal

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes it is. Seeing I have back problems it is very flexable for me.

What are your current career goals?
Actually just keeping this office together

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

Title Length Salary Description
Prior Job 1 Secretary 13 years 29000 Billing


Families needs

Prior Job 2 Admitting desk 6 years 20000 Admitting patients

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.85

GPA School Degree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.