Manager (Female, Age 25) in greer, SC

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 25 who works as a Manager in greer, SC. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleManager
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
Locationgreer, SC
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Family dollar

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Supervise employees, Paper work, payroll,Hire,Money,seasonal setup

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
4 weeks vaction,heath insurance

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Yes i would with others everyday an i love my job it is a little stressful at times but love being around an helping people

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Store

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 6

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI clock in threw register,I open the safe, get all my emails of the day,get my u-boats out for cashier,I go to bank an drop off deposit an get store ready to open
8am to 9amOpen the store, assign my cashier to her register, have her clock in, an put all her personal items in her locker in back room
9am to 10amStart up frate which is boxes of store products needed to be on shelf an give the cashier hers to do in front of store cashiers are not allowed to leave front of store unless management is up front an allowing it
10am to 11amgive her a smoke/bathroom break an then i do a pick up on her register take all amount except what store wants to stay in register give her a list of things needed to be cleaned in front area
11am to 12pmstraighten back room get as much of our products we can on our shelves clear as many u-boats as possible for truck which comes on Wednesdays
12pm to 1pmSweep up back isles clean bathrooms checks any emails call an make sure all employees schedululed to come is still able to in time before there shift starts
1pm to 2pmget the mail an mail off any boxes needed to be returned to cycle count which is what you do to see what products you need for your store an what products you have to many of an in no need of
2pm to 3pmget ready for shift change pick up cashiers register an the count it down an get it set up for next cashier Front an face all things possible so customers can see products face fronted while an looking at products then my shift ends an another manager an cashier come in for the rest of the day
3pm to 4pm
4pm to 5pm
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
my mother

What was the application process?
paper application,star from bottom an test to get to top

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
interview with manger onsite an Dm

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
shopping lifting,how well i work with others

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i do my mom taught me everything an she is the one that got me the job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
yes cashier first then asst.manager the manager

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
no i didnt finish school i only went to 10 th grade

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
yes

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
go for it its fun

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Social skills most defintly people person paintence an understanding

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
no

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Its fun but dont let the little things bring you down an save energy for the big things

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes b.c i always wanted to be in management

What are your current career goals?
to grow

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Its awesome an i love it

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1n/an/an/an/a
Prior Job 2N/An/an/an/a

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:N/A

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
n/an/aN/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/AN/AN/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.