Flooring Sales Specialist (Male, Age 25) in Bowling Green, KY

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Flooring Sales Specialist in Bowling Green, KY. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleFlooring Sales Specialist
Salary$35,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationBowling Green, KY
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
2nd largest home improvement retail chain

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Responsibility to sell flooring, flooring installations, and cross sell other departments. Also, to meet weekly/monthly/yearly department sales budgets and increase margin and specialty selling groups.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Full heath, dental, vision, life insurance, employee stock pch. plan, 401k w/match, 2wk.vacation, sick time, berevment time

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well compensated, could be better

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Constant work with customers and many co-workers and salesman. I enjoy working with customers on projects, and anything with co-workers to increase sales (increasing our bonus).

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Work on a sales floor most of the time, partly in a sales office. We cant make sales unless on the floor, but can get hectic while trying to work on an involved project with customers constantly around. I like working in the sales office becasue I can get work done quickly and efficently.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 3
Hours: 2
Co-Workers: 8
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 5
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 4

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amClocked in at 7, stood at the front of store for last part of morning meeting (went over sales stats, audit info) – went to desk and checked email, and my customer order management (what orders received, needed attention). Got a stock replenishment report and filled a few missing items on shelf.
8am to 9amPretty slow time, did a safety spot for a co worker putting up a few leftover pallets of tile from the nightstock crew. Talked to a couple of our carpet installers about various jobs and customers. Only a few customers with small, easy questions. Went to the breakroom for a while to kill some time.
9am to 10amHelped a couple pick out some area rugs. I then walked around the department for a while trying to look busy (they dont like when we just stand or sit at our desk on the floor). Walked around and made sure price tags were right. Talked to a few customers about how to install tile/what they need to do it.
10am to 11amAnother department co-worker came in, we chatted for a while about random things. Both of us got somewhat bored and went looking for a project. Ended up making some improvements to our carpet cutting machine. I helped some customers find stuff in other departments including a guy looking for a storm door, and some other folks with questions about floor cleaners.
11am to 12pmTalked to another co-worker that Ive known for a while (referred me to job) about his divorce and whatnot. Decided then to go to lunch (11:30-12:30)
12pm to 1pmGot back from lunch and called some product vendors about some literature we were missing. Spoke to an installer one of my customers hired about the special order hardwood she had ordered. I put up some returned items for a while. Took a few phone calls, mostly asking if we carried certain products.
1pm to 2pmWent through and checked my pending orders and made updates on them. Finished up the project we started with the carpet machine. Spoke to a customer about purchasing some cork flooring and getting it installed.
2pm to 3pmJumped on a register for about 15 min when it was busy and short staffed up front – rang up only one customer though. A customer of mine came in to pay for a flooring install of hardwood and tile – did the paperwork on that and made sure everything was correct.
3pm to 4pmDealt with some problems on the install I just sold (timeframe of when the customer wanted it done vs. when the installer would be avail.). Spoke to one of my customers on the phone about the status of her hardwood order, she offered to buy me a bottle of wine for being so good with the sale. Called a vendor about a problem with a customers order. Went home at 4
4pm to 5pmLeft right at 4
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
referral from former co-worker

What was the application process?
electronic appliation

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
2 interviews – 1st with HR and lower level managers (sales and operations), 2nd with General Manager

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
basic form letter interview questions: strengths and weaknesses, etc.

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes, well enough, mostly needed to learn product knowledge – which was good training. The sales training was not that great, but luckily I did not really need any.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
Mostly online training, and a few weeks of training on the floor.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
In my 2 years I went to college I took a wide variey of classes that helped with my social and business qualifications

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
no internship exp.

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Gain experience in a competetive sales environment(commission sales, car, etc.). Also learn the core steps to a sale and present a very confident attitude.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Excellent social skills due to the constant interaction with public and other co-workers. Also, organization skills a must to keep up with budgets, financial data and customer lead/order information. Helpful to be able to learn new software quickly and type at a decent speed.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Best training would be on the job experience with other sales positions. Some basic business courses helpful.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Must put a lot of dedication into it at first, and not get discouraged – you must be confident and persistant as well as a quick learner to be successful at a fully sales oriented job.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
possibly – if willing, it is fairly easy to move up into entry level management – somewhat harder to get a decent management or corporate job within company – but if it was possibly I would enjoy and upper/middle level management job with company

What are your current career goals?
probably management of some type, feel that I can lead better than be lead.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
Just another retail droan – It can be decent money compared to the amount of work and qualifications needed, in a sales related job anyway.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Sales1yr15000non commission, entry level sales.
Prior Job 2salesman2yr25000full commissioned electronics and appliance sales

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
2.5Centre CollegeEconomics
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
2.5Western KY UniversitySociology

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.