Cna (Male, Age 34) in Johnson city, TN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 34 who works as a Cna in Johnson city, TN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleCna
Salary$34,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week60
Company Size(not answered)
LocationJohnson city, TN
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for a very large company Greystone Medical facility

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I assist the patients and attend to any needs that they have including feeding and showers

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
under compensated

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
on a daily basis I work with many people including my supervisors. I like working with othes.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
My work location is an assisted living facility

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 3
Supervisors: 2
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
newspaper

What was the application process?
filled out an application, submitted a resume, done a call back

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
yes I went through two interviews and 16 hours of orientation

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
what i expected to get out of my job, what hours i could work, what shift i was interested in, what was my expected pay rate

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes i feel that i was properly prepared for my current job

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
i had to take a cna course at the local college to receive my certificate to become a certified nursing assistant

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes I have had experience in caring for the elderly before

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
n/a

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
finish high school then take the course for being a nurses aide

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
they should have excellent people skills and a lot of patience

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
yes there are certain classes that must be attended to receive a certificate before being able to work in this field

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
take the cna course and learn all that you can

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
yes this is what i have always wanted to do

What are your current career goals?
finish nursing school and be an RN

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I find that working in the medical field is very rewarding.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1cna2 years24000certified nursing assistant…caring for the elderly
Prior Job 2team leader1 year15machine operator..overseeing other machine operators

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.6

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.4ETSUNursing
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.