Medical Scheduler (Female, Age 24) in Woodbury, MN

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 24 who works as a Medical Scheduler in Woodbury, MN. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMedical Scheduler
Salary$31,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week36
Company Size(not answered)
LocationWoodbury, MN
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
This is a smaller private practice group that is affiliated with a very large children’s hospital.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I schedule patients for tests, procedures and surgeries. I assist in the office with patient care duties as needed.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
Free Med/Dental, Free $1200 flex medical pot, life insurance, Pension

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with at least two others in admin positions on a daily basis. I like working with others rather than alone, but since there are only three of us, it’s a difficult environment. We do have doctors that rotate through daily, but they don’t tend to interact in the manner that would sort of equal out with the three of us women.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
It’s a small office that has a rotating staff. I don’t liek just having the three admin staff, there is always a third wheel and it causes many problems.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 2
Benefits: 3
Hours: 1
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 4
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 7

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8am
8am to 9amThe first half of this time period is spent traveling to work. I get to work at 8:30am and usually address all of my emails. On Mondays I have to check the hospital weekend emails for patient admits and care needs.
9am to 10amI continue emails and follow up calls on patients that were brought onto the service over the weekend. I start to work on insurance verifications for the next day.
10am to 11amI continue verfications and often have an increase in phone calls that need to be answered. With the increase in phone calls, comes an increase of scheduling. I start to make a pile of all things that need to be scheduled.
11am to 12pmI start with scheduling of tests, procedures and surgeries. I spend alot of my time in this hour on hold with the hospital, as it is also their busy time.
12pm to 1pmI take lunch.
1pm to 2pmClinic usually starts at 1:00p on Mondays. I sit out at our front desk and welcome patients. I get paperwork processed, copy insurance cards for them and get them checked into patient rooms.
2pm to 3pmI continue clinic work with patients and doctors to ensure that the clinic flows smoothly. I often take on additional scheduling as patients finish appointments and leave their visits.
3pm to 4pmI go back to the scheduling the items that I was working on before lunch and call the patients back that I have scheduled. I often get a few that don’t want the original date they requested and I try to get them rescheduled prior to the time I leave (4pm)
4pm to 5pmI leave at 4pm and spend 45 minutes in traffic to get home.
5pm to 6pm
6pm to 7pm
7pm to 8pm
8pm to 9pm
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
Through the company I used to work for.

What was the application process?
I got a call from this company after they found out I left my old job, and they requested a resume. They interviewed and hired me the same day.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
Yes, I did a sit down interview with the clinic manager. We did some questions and answers, and then went on into benefits and other items that would be available to me. They presented me with a salary offer that day.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
When was the last time you had to calm an angry patient? How did you accomplish this? What happened the last time you messed up a surgery? How did you fix it? Do you have a good rapport with the hospital staff?

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Only in dealing with the unique work environment with a total of three clerical staff. It’s been the most difficult part of the job.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
No, I had already acquired the skills I needed to do the job.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I do have some nursing education background and it has been more than helpful in understanding things with the job.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
I have a lot of On the Job training and networking put into my position. It takes knowing people to always get the things I need done. I would encourage them to have good people skills and take the chances available to socialize with those that they will be working with.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
They must be organized, polite and quick. It’s important to be able to organize things mentally as well as physically, there is not always time to write down a to-do list.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
Yes, you need some entry level medical background and the rest will sort of be learned and acquired as you go.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
Take the time to do it right the first time. Scheduling surgeries works with many people’s lives and you don’t want to screw that up because you were working too fast.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, You have to start somewhere. It’s important to work with the people that I do work with because in the future when I need a nursing job, I know where to go.

What are your current career goals?
I would like to finish my education and get a nursing position with this company. I do have my general degree, but it’s just not enough in this line of work.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
I do love what I do, despite the fact that it can be stressful, overwhelming and challenging.

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Surgery Scheduler2 years33000Schedule surgeries, tests, infusions and procedures for 5 physicians on the pediatric level
Prior Job 2Medical Temp Worker3 months28000I worked for many area clinics as a temporary worker while I tried to find a permanent position. This office got me hired at Minnesota Gastroenterology.

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.8

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
3.2Century CollegeGeneral AA
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.