Director Of Marketing (Female, Age 29) in Hancock, MD

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Female aged 29 who works as a Director Of Marketing in Hancock, MD. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleDirector Of Marketing
Salary$30,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week45
Company Size(not answered)
LocationHancock, MD
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
Slumber Parties

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
Making fliers, webpages, newsletters and helpign with set up and tear down

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
none

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
well

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
Nope

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?
Yes

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
Home office

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 8
Benefits: 5
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 7
Supervisors: 6
Job Title: 2
Level of Responsibility: 3
The Actual Work: 1

A day in the life of…

Please describe a typical workday for you in your current job:

5am to 6am
6am to 7am
7am to 8amI get up and boot up the computer.
8am to 9amI log into mailchimp and begin working on the newest newsletter. I must remember to add the new additions to the subscriber list.
9am to 10amEmailed a copy of the current newletter to the boss. While waiting for her reply I begin work on the current print newsletter. Have to come up with new and unique specials for the month.

10am to 11amAfter taking a short 15 minute break, I go through and check emails and incoming orders. Boss emails back and I go through mailchimp with changes.

11am to 12pmLunch time
12pm to 1pmInventory updating. I use my prgramming to type in all new incoming inventory updates. Then I have to go through and input any current orders into teh system so they can be filled.
1pm to 2pmBreak
2pm to 3pmBreak
3pm to 4pmBreak
4pm to 5pmBreak
5pm to 6pmBreak
6pm to 7pmNow that my child is settled for the evening I begin to work on trying to update our current programming and creating our mail database. Afterwards I go through and rework any additons to the newsletter and begin my printing schedule.

7pm to 8pmclear out all inventory that needs to be mailed and prepare all the boxes for shipping tomorrow.
8pm to 9pmbed time for now for tomorrow is non stop runnign and two partoes to finish up.
9pm to 10pm
10pm to 11pm
11pm to 12am

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
friend

What was the application process?
none

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
none

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
none

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
no

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
yes

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
none

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
contact slumber parties

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Computer and web design skills

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
nope

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
NONE

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
nope

What are your current career goals?
none

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?
none

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1director of marketing3 YEARS30000work from home
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:3.5

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.