Mechanic (Male, Age 25) in Southaven, MS

This is a REAL-LIFE job profile written by a Male aged 25 who works as a Mechanic in Southaven, MS. This professional kindly spent a bit of their time to complete our job profile survey so that prospective job seekers like you could read their insights. Please excuse any punctuation or grammatical errors in this profile.

At a Glance

Current Job

Basic data on your current job

Job TitleMechanic
Salary$27,000
Other Compensation None Set
Hours/Week40
Company Size(not answered)
LocationSouthaven, MS
Years Experience4 years

Career Ratings

Opinions on your CAREER overall (i.e. not just your current job)

Years in Career0
Education(not answered)
Income Rating0 / 10
Interest Rating0 / 10
Work-Life Rating0 / 10
Fulfilment Rating0 / 10

Table of Contents

Current job Q&A

Describe the type of organization you work for.
I work for one of the largest car rental corporations in the US. It employs over 1000 people and provides various oppurtunities to move up in the company.

Describe your job role and responsibilities.
I am an automotive mechanic. I do various jobs including oil changes,balancing tires,and plugging tires.I work at a car rental corporation so whenever cars come in with any type of need, I find out the problem and fix it. This often includes replacing spark plugs, charging air conditioners, and fixing any other issues one might have with the car.

Please list an additional benefits (beyond compensation) that you receive.
I have medical, dental, and life insurance.

Do you feel you are under/over or well/fairly compensated at your current position?
Well, however, for what I do I feel somewhat under compensated.

Does your job entail you working with others on a daily basis? Is this something you like/dislike about your job? Please explain.
I work with anywhere from 1-2 other mechanics during the day. However, there are days when I am the only one. I usually do not mind working with others, however, I do find it frustrating when I do much more than the others do.

Do you work collaboratively with supervisors/managers?
Yes

Do you work collaboratively with your co-workers?

Describe your work location (e.g., office, home, theatre, in the field) and what you like/dislike about working in it.
I work in the garage, but I work in my own bay. I have my own tool box that stays next to my bay. It is a typical garage with 3 open bays for other workers. I really like having my own work space, however, it is always hot and sometimes gets cramped.

Please rate each of the following aspects of your current job on a scale of 1-10 (10 being the highest/best):
Income: 1
Benefits: 2
Hours: 4
Co-Workers: 5
Supervisors: 7
Job Title: 8
Level of Responsibility: 6
The Actual Work: 3

How you got your job

How did you get your current job?
My father is a service manager for a large car dealership and works closely with the car rental company and found the job opening for me.

What was the application process?
I submitted a resume as well as filled out an application.

Did you have to interview for your current job? If yes, what did the interview process entail?
I had a very informal interview. I was already placed high on the hiring list due to my father being known there. However, I did have a sit down interview with the manager over this location.

If you can remember, what questions were you asked during the interview?
N/A

Do you feel your employer properly prepared you for your job? Explain.
Yes, I was already very knowledgeable in the field and learned other things by asking questions and reading.

Was there training for your current position? If yes, what did it entail?
There was no formal training involved. What I learned was from being around the other mechanics during our shift.

Do you feel your educational background prepared you for your job? Explain.
No, I did not attend college and only graduated from high school.What prepared me most was what I had been taught at home and through experience with my own cars.

If applicable, do you feel your internship experience helped you prepare for your job?
N/A

If someone wanted to go about getting a job similar to yours, what would you recommend for him or her to do?
Go to various places where mechanics might be needed. One should not count out car rental places as well as car dealerships. OFten these places pay more than a small repair shop. Also, the more education and certifications someone has, the easier it will be to find a job.

What skills do you think a person should have if they want to pursue a position like yours?
Someone should be wiling to listen to others, because there will always be something else to learn. Technical skils are a must. Someone should have an understanding of electronics and how a car works. Its also very important to keep orgazined and keep your tasks straight. Often, there are a few things going on at once, and you must be able to keep them seperated.

Do you feel that you need a certain level of education or training to be successful in your job?
You can be successful without any formal education, however, to move up you must have some basic or extensive knowledge of automobiles and the technical side of cars.

What advice would you give to someone who was about to start work in your position/ line of work?
I would tell someone to keep their ears open to advice and never think they know it all. In this field there are so many small things to know and learn. If someone comes into the job thinking they can handle every situation, they will soon be put back in their place.

Long-term career plans

Is your current employment part of your overall career plan? Why or why not?
Yes, I plan on becoming ASE certified and moving up in the company. Also by becoming certified, you are move attractive to other employers.

What are your current career goals?
My main goal is just to become certifited and maybe venture out and find a higher paying job. I enjoy learning and working on cars, so this is a job I really enjoy doing. I like being able to say that I learn something everyday from my job.

Is there anything else you would like to share about your career?

Prior work history

Please list your most recent jobs prior to this current job:

TitleLengthSalaryDescription
Prior Job 1Carpenter1 year20000I was a carpenter for a construction company. I worked with molding and shelving. I also did other odd jobs around the job site that had to be done.
Prior Job 2

Educational background

Please list your educational background:

High School GPA:2

GPASchoolDegree
College (Undergraduate)
or Technical/Vocational
N/A
Graduate or Professional
(Masters or Doctorate)
N/A

Ask a Question of this Mentor

This mentor has opted to receive questions from people interested in this career or job position. Please be respectful of their time and willingness to help. Include some basic relevant background so they can intelligently answer your question.